Care for a 30 minute or less meal?

Take outs and leftovers have taken over my refrigerator for the past two weeks. Yes, that is how long that I haven’t been cooking a full meal.

Fortunately, uncut cabbage keep real well in the refrigerator. This particular one has been in my refrigerator for at least two weeks.

Tonight, I wasn’t ready to cook anything complicated, so I made two simple dishes, Bake Salmon and Stir Fry Cabbage. Unlike the Cabbage, I bought the Salmon fresh this morning. I love this Salmon recipe because the fish’s flesh is tender and full of flavor.

Stir fry Cabbage with Szechuan (Sichuan) Peppercorns
(Recipe adapted from Chinese Cuisine by Huang Su Huei)

1 cabbage (about 1 lb)
3 dried hot red peppers
1 t szechuan peppercorn
1/2 T mashed ginger root
1/2 T each: cooking wine or sherry, white vinegar, sugar
1/2 T sesame oil
3/4 T soy sauce
1/3 t salt
1/2 t cornstarch

Rinse the cabbage and cut it into 2 inch squares. Heat the wok then add 3 T oil. Add the cabbage and 3 T water. Turn heat to high and stir fry until cabbage is soft but crunchy, do not overcook. Remove and drain water.
Reheat the wok then add 2 T oil. Stir fry red peppers, peppercorns and ginger root untl fragrant. Remove the szechuan peppercorn. Return the cabbage and seasonings to wok and stir fry. Transfer to serving platter and serve.

Hoisin Baked Salmon
(from an old newspaper clipping)

Two 6-oz pieces salmon
2 T hoisin sauce
2 t soy sauce
few drops of sesame oil
1/4 tsp chili paste
1 tsp sesame seeds

Preheat oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit. Place salmon in a baking dish. Brush seasonings onto fish and bake for 10 minutes.

8 Comments

Filed under hipfood

8 responses to “Care for a 30 minute or less meal?

  1. I came across your blog from http://ugwug.blogspot.com's link and I just finished reading about you. Firstly, I am happy you’re from Klang .. I grew up there too (with Bah Kut Teh as well). Secondly, I am deeply honored to have finally known someone who is a direct descendant of the person who started BKT in Klang. I wrote a few articles on BKT but I never really knew the history until now. Thank you very much. Anyway, I’ll be dropping by again ….

  2. alice

    Thanks, Lee Ping for posting the recipe for salmon. I have 3 pieces of salmon trout in my freezer. Now I can try that recipe but hubby doesn’t like sweet dishes. What can I substitute for szechuan pepper? Don’t have it here .

  3. stir fried white cabbage with egg taste fantastic (used to be my favorite dish before I got tyroid problem 🙂

  4. Hi Timothy,
    My parents said that Grandpa Lee started Klang Bah Kut Teh. Grandpa was an honorable and well loved man. I am very proud to be her granddaughter.

    I am glad that you found my blog through WMW. If it were not for her, I will still be posting blurry photos. I am very grateful for her photo tips and most of all, her friendship.

    Dear Alice,
    This Baked Salmon recipe work best with fresh fish. You mentioned that your husband does not like sweet dishes. This recipe may not work then.

    As far as the szechuan peppercorn, you can omit that if you can’t find it in Japan. It is added to give a special flavor to the cabbage. The flavor from szechuan peppercorn (hua jiao) is rather unique, it is almost like black peppercorn with a numbing and burning effect on the tongue.

    p/s I find frozen fishes that still taste good after defrost is Cod. It is 鱈魚 in Chinese Language. I have not tried frozen Salmon Trout yet.

    Dear Chinnee,
    I am sorry to know that you have tyroid problem. You said you can’t eat your favorite dish of stir fry white cabbage and egg because you have tyroid problem. Is it because of the high cholesterol in egg yolk?

  5. At first glance I thought you made my baked miso fish. 😛 Thanks for the idea of using hoisin sauce!

  6. Dear Ching,
    I have been visiting your blog and so glad that you are doing so well. Your kind sharing have finally paid off.

    Miso fish is also one of my favorite fish dish. I remember reading your baked miso fish article. Thanks for sharing.

  7. Mel

    Dear Lee Ping,

    Thanks for popping by my little kitchen. 🙂 Cabbage and salmon are two are my fav. food and they are quick and easy to make. I have not tried stir-frying cabbage with Sze Chuan peppercorns though, will definitely try it one day.

    My dad is from Klang too so I have had some wonderful childhood years growing up there. How I miss the BKT breakfasts!

  8. Dear Mel,
    The pleasure’s mine. I’m always excited to see who has linked up to my blog.

    You mentioned your Dad is also from Klang. There are many bloggers who are from Klang. Like yourself, I miss the Klang Bah Kut Teh. Additionally, I miss Char Kway Teow with Crispy Pork Lard, Satay and Port Klang Seafood.

    Keep up your cooking and sharing spirits!

Leave a Reply

