Sweet Creamy Avocado and St. Patrick’s Day

Did you know that the Chicago River is dyed green to celebrate St. Patrick’s Day?

Celebrations are generally themed around the color green. Although Avocado is not related to Irish, but it is green.

If you like Avocado and you like dessert, this recipe is for you. It is super simple. My only complain is washing the food processor afterwards.

Recipe adapted from The cooking of Malaysia and Singapore by Ghillie Basan.

Serves two
1 avocado, (pitted)
juice of half a lime
30 ml /2 tbsp sweetened condensed milk
30 ml /2 tbsp coconut milk
a pinch of salt

Put the avocado flesh into food processor and puree it with lime juice. Add the condensed milk, coconut milk and salt and process until the mixture is smooth and creamy.

12 Comments

Filed under Desserts

12 responses to “Sweet Creamy Avocado and St. Patrick’s Day

  1. So one avocado gets you one portion, I suppose? My hubby loves avocado anything, so I should surprise him with this sweet concoction. (Maybe I can get him to wash up after that too! hehe.)

  2. When I was a kid, my family would eat slices of avocado with condensed milk drizzled over them.
    When I recently told my Austrian teacher and other half about this, they baulked. Their way with avocado is to add a sprinkle of salt (and ground black pepper) and a squeeze of mayonnaise.
    Now I like both ways — on toast, too.
    Your way sounds even more delicious, but I’d just mash it with a fork.

  3. I love avocado…. this is interesting to try and looks healthy to me too.

  4. Yours looks creamy and yummy! My mum used to make this for me and after seeing your post, I’m craving for it now!

  5. alice

    You should try eating it with soy sauce and if you like , you can add wasabi to the soy sauce. It tastes great! I tried Amy Beh’s belacan chicken that day. Hubby likes it. The belacan chicken ,esp. the belacan was not so smelly as I thought.

  6. wmw

    Happy Easter! Looks lovely but only tried avocado in salad, not as dessert.

  7. Dear LL,
    The suggested serving is one avocado for two person. The first time I made this, I ate about 4 avocados, all by myself. By the fourth one, I was feeling a bit jelak (bloating feeling).

    If you use a food processor to blend the avocado, just soak all the washable parts. It should be easier to rinse off afterwards, regardless who does the dishes. 🙂

    Additionally, the top of the creamy avocado will turn brown after awhile, thus making it unappetizing. So, if you decide to make this for your hubby, serve immediately.

    Dear Argus,
    Thanks for your suggestions. I do gain knowledge by sharing with others.

    Smashing avocado with a fork saves time and energy of washing the food processor and not much avocado is lost between the blades.

    Eating avocado with a sprinkle of salt and ground black pepper, and a squeeze of mayonnaise on toast is delicious. Now, that is a vegetarian meal I will eat.

    Dear Cocoa,
    Yes, avocado is healthy. And the fat in avocado is a type of fat that may actually help to raise levels of HDL (“good”cholesterol) which actually protects arteries, while lowering levels of LDL (“bad” cholesterol).

    Dear Bernice,
    The best way to satisfy one’s crave is either go back to Mom’s home, or make it yourself. If you can bake muffins, this dessert should be a “piece of cake” for you. 🙂 If you try this recipe, let me know how it goes for you.

    Dear Alice,
    Eating avocado with soy sauce and wasabi? I have not try that yet. But, I believe you when you said it tastes great. Avocado is such a versatile fruit/vegetable that it will taste great whether you eat it sweet, salty or spicy. That reminds me, I love guacamole (ripe avocado, garlic, jalapeno – a kind of green chili, onion, tomato) with tortilla chips.

    While writing this reply, I had to research whether avocado is a fruit or a vegetable. According to wikianswers, “botanically, it is a fruit but culinary or in the kitchen it is often treated as a vegetable. In some cuisines, the avocado is treated as a fruit and is used in some desserts.”

    I should check out Amy Beh’s belacan chicken. Thanks for sharing with me. By the way, do you know the difference between shrimp paste and belacan?

    Dear WMW,
    I also enjoy avocado in salads. Adding a few slices of avocado just gives the salad an extra “oomph”, almost like eating slices of chicken meat.

    Happy Easter to you as well. I got to see my good friend baptized on this special day.

  8. this looks so elegant and so classy! love it to bits!

  9. alice

    I guess Amy Beh used belacan (the block type) and not “heh koh” because it is supposed to be belacan chicken. I will cook it again but then, these deep fried foods (just cooked the cucur kodok from Argus’ recipe on her post) are going to stretch my waist!

  10. Beautiful dessert from a beautiful friend! Will try this some time. And I like your little silver tray and spoon too! 🙂

  11. Hi BBO,
    My dessert looks “whimpy” compared to your creations. I would not mind trading my Avocado dessert with your Passionfruit Cake.

    Dear Alice,
    I think in the US, shrimp paste is belacan. And “heh Koh” is simply the sauce for rojak. I know it is kind of confusing because “Heh Koh” translates to shrimp paste.

    You mentioned that you hesitate making fried foods because they are going to stretch your waist. Have you tried deep frying with Grape Seed oil and drain the food well from oil? I mentioned this before, I noticed as I age, my weight tends to move below my waist. Perhaps the way to counter that is exercise and sleep upside down. 🙂

    Dear East Meets West Kitchen,
    Thanks for your sweet comment. This dessert, like me, does not stay beautiful for too long. It turns brown after a while.

    p/s Thanks again for the link to my Oyster Omelet Recipe. The link explains why I receive more traffic lately on this particular recipe.

  12. yes, i like this too Lee Ping, though i don’t add coconut milk in it.

Leave a Reply

