Chinese New Year and Turning Point

A couple of years ago, we celebrated Chinese New Year with three other families from Singapore and Malaysia in Portland. Font, we had a great time at your home. Thanks!

Our dinner began with an elaborate appetizer. Each of us (adults) held a pair of chopsticks and gathered around the table. In the center of the table was a big plate of Chinese-style raw fish salad, (Yu Sheng or Yee Sang in Cantonese 鱼生).

We took up a pair of chopsticks and on cue, started to “Lo Hei” (Cantonese 撈起). We tossed shredded ingredients into the air with chopsticks while saying auspicious wishes (Jíxiáng Huà 吉祥话) out loud.

This year, I attempted to make this dish myself. Recipe posted here.  Here’s some Yu Sheng photos.

On this festive day, I pray that I can be a real Christian. I want to walk in the way of life, the way to life that can only be found in Jesus Christ. I want God’s peace and love to fill my heart. Only with Jesus will I get the everlasting peace (歲歲平安 Suìsuì píng’ān).

7 Comments

Filed under hipfood, Stream in the Hip Desert 新沙漠甘泉

7 responses to “Chinese New Year and Turning Point

  1. Alice

    Wow! You follow the tradition of celebrating CNY. Mine has somewhat been overtaken by JNY on Jan. 1st.

  2. Dear Alice,

    This year, Chinese New Year fell on a Thursday in the US. It was a normal working and school day. Nothing special, except I had cravings for Yu Sheng, a dish that we ate a couple of years ago at a friend’s home during Chinese New Year.

    Thursday night was also women’s bible study night where we studied Beth Moore’s “Breaking Free – Making Liberty in Christ” workbook.

    I have often allowed sadness and anger to control my life. This new year, with the help of Holy Spirit and God’s words, I would like to “break free”!

  3. peter Chong

    Dearest Lee Ping,
    Happy New Year to you and your family.
    I really envy you having a nice tradional Chinese
    meal with your family.
    We have a family reunion at home enjoying mom’s cooking.
    Love
    Pa and mom

  4. A very belated wish, but better late than never. Gong Hei Fatt Choy! Wishing you and your family not only wealth, but abundance of happiness and good health in this year of the rat.

  5. Koong hey fatt choy, Mrs HBT!
    A very happy and blessed Year of the Rat to you and your family. Do you still keep the practice of giving ‘hoong pau’ to little ones?
    If yes, you can pass one small one to little ol’ me!
    😉

  6. Dear Chinnee,
    Thanks for stopping by my blog and for your compliments.

    Dearest Pa,
    Thanks for your encouragement. Yes, there’s no food like Mom’s food! Bet everyone enjoyed the reunion food. Mom is an expert (just like grandma) in cooking for crowds.

    Dear Teckiee,
    Same to you. You have started an adventurous year. It is the rat year. I bet that mouse is one animal that you have not eaten right?

    Dear Argus,
    Kong Hey Fatt Choy to you as well. I don’t give red packets to my girls. But, I have many red packets at home, so no worries, I can definitely pass a couple to you (Two for good luck). 🙂

Leave a Reply

