Whole Wheat Hokkaido Milky Loaf Bread (全麥北海道牛奶土司)

(edited October 18 2011)
I probably should not call this Hokkaido Loaf bread recipe since I am not really using Hokkaido milk. I am using whipping cream (very thick milk). But, this is the closest recipe that worked for me in producing a very soft fluffy bread.

The secret to soft fluffy bread is TangZhong. I use this in all my bread dough now. The night before you bake bread, prepare a paste call TangZhong. The process of cooking the flour helps retain the moisture.

TangZhong is 1 part of flour to 5 parts of water. It is also known as the 65 degrees C because it is at this temperature that TangZhong is ready. Transfer TangZhong paste to a clean bowl. When it is slightly cooled, cover with a plastic wrap to prevent from drying up. Chill the TangZhong paste in the refrigerator overnight. This paste can be stored up to a few days. (If it turns grey, it is bad, throw it away!) Making TangZhong takes only a few minutes and the results is soft and fluffy homemade bread that stays soft longer.

Here are the ingredients:
TangZhong or Water Roux Starter 湯種
1/3 cup flour
1 cup water
Mix 1/3 cup bread flour with 1 cup water until there are NO more lumps. Put the mixture in a pot and cook over medium heat. I stir continuously with my wooden chopstick. The mixture will thicken. Once you see “lines” in your mixture, turn off the heat.

Bread Dough
2½ cups whole wheat bread flour
3tbsp+2tsp caster sugar
1tsp salt
1 large egg
1tbsp+1tsp milk powder
½cup milk (use whipping cream or whole milk)
half of the tangzhong you made
2 tsp instant yeast
3tbsp butter (cut into small pieces)

Method for preparing the dough:
(1) Put all the bread dough ingredients into the bread machine. Choose the dough setting and press start.

(2) Line baking loaf pan with parchment paper.

(3) After this cycle (about one hour and 30 minutes) the machine will beep. Remove the dough from the bread machine and place onto a silpat. Divide into 2 doughs. Shape into loaf shapes and place into loaf pan.

(4) Leave it for the 2nd round of proofing, about 30 minutes. Cover with cling wrap.

(5) Brush whisked egg white on surface.

(6) Bake in a pre-heated 356F oven for 30 to 35 minutes. Remove from the oven.

related article: Ham and Corn Taiwanese Bun

15 Comments

Filed under Hip Tips

15 responses to “Whole Wheat Hokkaido Milky Loaf Bread (全麥北海道牛奶土司)

  1. hey..u r back! its been awhile since i dropped by to see if you are up and running again..

    now dis white bread really reminds me that its been ages since i tried to cut carbs from my body..how i long for a nice thick slice of white bread with some strawberry jam… hmmm

  2. hi Lee Ping! very nice to hear you’ve accomplished making Hokkaido bread. i love that bread too and i do knead breads using my bread machine. i usually bake in regular pan instead of in the bread machine.
    how’s life going with you? 🙂

  3. Alice

    Good to see you turn on the comments again. BTW, I found this on Argus’ post (Sept. 11,07). http://steamykitchen.com/blog/2007/09/10/no-knead-bread-revisited/

  4. Alice

    Oh, your bread looks so good that I want to sink my teeth into it!

  5. Wowie, that’s fantastic, Mrs HBT! Thanks for your tips. Congratulations on your successful soft white bread. You motivate me to make bread from scratch again (I haven’t done it for a few months).

    (By the way, in relation to your teeth/gum-cleaning post, my brother who is a dentist has told me that patients, who probably neglect flossing, tend to get a lot of cavities between their molars in their forties.)

  6. I have been wanting to try this recipe and now I have to, after looking at your lovely loaf of bread. 🙂

  7. hey thanks for the recipe and the tips part. I have always want a bread recipe like this.

  8. welcome back.. I had my first trial on hokkaido milk loaf 2 weeks ago with my bread machine.. it was wonderful.. And your loaf looks lovely.

  9. Ssan

    Hi, I am trying the Hokkaido bread and when I converted the ingredients from metric to the English system (not really accurate due to humidity etc but I was trying to make it more convenient for future attempts)….I made the mistake of equating 540 gm of bread flour with only 2 cups (instead of 2 1/3 c). The resulting dough was still too ‘soft’ ….I ended up adding more than 1/2 cup bread. After mixing and before proofing in the bread machine, does the dough look like the usual dough that you have left in the machine to proof or ‘softer’ ? Do you recall how much flour (estimate) you had to sprinkle on when the dough is being mixed in the bread machine?

    Have you ever made the loaf bread with the taro swirl? It is readily available in Canada but I have never seen them in the US, even in CA or chinatown NY.

    I surfed the internet occasionally but only found your blog and Angie’s blog recently and am so excited as you both have the best Asian recipes, comments, tips …..in short, as the kids say…you both rock!

    Thanks!

  10. wmw

    Hey there, I can leave comments now! Great to be able to drop you a note. The loaf of bread looks lovely.

  11. Hi LotsofCravings,

    First one to leave me comments. Thanks for your support. I have missed blogging. My mind is always filled with ideas. May the Lord grant me wisdom to manage my time and to balance between my hobby and my family life.

    As long as you eat moderately, you will stay slim. So, feel free to enjoy your favorite white bread with strawberry jam.

    Dear Eliza,
    As I mentioned to you on my email, my girls are sick. Well, my Little Dragon is still coughing. This reminded me of my own persistent cough last year. Not a pleasant memory. I pray that God will heal her soon.

    Dear Alice,
    My faithful blogger friend, thanks for your comments. I am happy that I turned on comments on this article. The comments I received here have been very encouraging. I am very tempted to try Miss Steamy Kitchen’s recipe.

    Dear Argus,
    You said, “You motivate me to make bread from scratch again.” Thanks for your encouragement. I needed to hear that.

    (…and thanks for reading my article on gum cleaning. Our dentist encourages our girls to floss regularly. I used to floss Little Dragon’s teeth when she was 5. It was our nightly Mommie and Daughter routine. These days, I spot check their gums. If their gums bleed, I know they have not been flossing!

    My sister who is also a dentist loves the floss tool that look like a toothbrush.)

    Dear EastMeetsWestKitchen,
    Please let me know how it work out for you. Thanks for coming by.

    Dear Teckiee,
    You are welcome. I remember growing up in Malaysia, we could get fresh bread conveniently at very little cost. A man on motorbike would go by our house honking and selling fresh hot breads. If that is still true, making breads in Malaysia is more for fun, and not for necessity. Your future hubby will be blessed with your incredible cooking spirit. Keep it up.

    Dear Cocoa,
    I added your article to my list of bloggers who have tried Hokkaido Bread. I noticed that the top of your loaf is lighter. You probably know this, to get it brown, you can apply a milk wash. Just brush a thin layer of milk on the top of your loaf before baking. However, I am not sure if you can do that in a bread machine.

    Perhaps one day, bread machine can come up with a baked loaf that is flat at the bottom. Currently, the baked bread has a whole because of the bread attachment at the bottom.

    Thanks for coming by.

    Hi Ssan,

    I shall attempt to answer your question. You asked:

    1) After mixing and before proofing in the bread machine, does the dough look like the usual dough that you have left in the machine to proof or ‘softer’?

    Answer:
    I find the Hokkaido Bread dough much “softer” than regular bread dough.

    2) Do you recall how much flour (estimate) you had to sprinkle on when the dough is being mixed in the bread machine?

    Answer:
    You mentioned humidity in your comment. You are right. The amount of flour to add depend on the humidity. Since I used the recipe that has egg, the amount of extra flour used will depend on the egg as well. I tried the recipe with just egg white as recommended and tried it with the whole egg, yolk and all. So honestly, I can’t remember the amount of flour I had to sprinkle on the dough. However, I will share with you some tips from Baking911. You should sprinkle flour little by little until the dough:
    – feels coherent, soft and smooth, but not dry.
    – holds together in a nice ball and feels like “baby’s bottom”.
    – springs back when lightly pressed with two fingers.

    Additionally, I find Hokkaido bread dough more sticky or stretchy than my char siu bun doughs.

    3) Have you ever made the loaf bread with the taro swirl?

    Answer:
    I have not attempted loaf bread with taro swirl yet. I love loaf bread with taro swirl as well as red bean swirl. Not long ago, I learned pork floss swirl bread from our Pastor’s wife. The bread that we made was round and was cooked in a non-stick skillet, with a little olive oil at the bottom of the pan, instead of the oven.

    Are you referring to the taro swirl loaf bread that has taro paste swirl within the soft and fluffy bread? I found a link to this kind of taro swirl bread here.
    Their shop is in
    10961 N Wolfe Road
    Cupertino Village
    Cupertino, CA 95014
    (408) 865-6000

    You might already know this, Angie has the recipe for purple taro two tone bread.

    Thanks for your encouragement. I shall continue to share more “you rock” dishes.

    Dear WMW,
    My very loyal blogger friend, thanks for remembering me. I visit your blog when time permits and it continues to inspire me to take better photographs and cook more authentic foods.

  12. Ssan

    Thanks, Lee Ping. My bread came out very moist but kind of coarse…I might have added too much flour both while the bread machine is mixing it and also after, when I was making them into small loaves. BUT this is the first time I ever found a recipe that gave me such soft, moist bread. Thank you! I will definitely try this recipe again. I did make two small breads – free form, rolling pepper jack cheese slices into the dough and my son liked them. He requests that I use the same dough to make him hot dog buns to bring to school for lunches this week.
    I did make two loaves of bread with taro in them. They did not taste like the sliced bread that I love from Canada (not Angie’s two tone bread) but I will keep trying. Basically, I cooked taro cubes with some sugar then mash them, also passed them thru a strainer (prob shd have used my food mill). Then I made the rolls like you did the bread with pork sung swirls.

    The CA bakery site you included above did not have taro bread picture. The taro swirl bread I love is like raisin-cinnamon bread but has sweetened taro in them (plenty of very fine lines.) I think ….next time I will fold the rolled out dough a few more times instead of just three folds (big group of taro).

    I will try your char-sui pao soon. Nice talking to you.

  13. Lee, that loaf is so divine!..it looks so soft and tempting..

  14. Alice

    Happy Chinese New Year to you and your family!

  15. Pingback: Ham and Corn Taiwanese Homemade Bun (火腿玉米手工麵包) « Stream in the Hip Desert 新荒漠甘泉; Hip Food

Leave a Reply

