Barbequed Chicken Wings

This is a perfect dish to feed a crowd. Young and old will enjoy this dish. This crowd pleasing dish is easy to prepare and does not cost an arm and leg.

Chicken wings is highly regarded in Malaysia for their slightly gelatinous texture, as shown in Lyrical Lemongrass Grilled Chicken Wings and WMW Jalan Alor Floggers Meet.

The following recipe is adapted from “The Food of Malaysia (Authentic Recipes from the Crossroads of Asia)”.

6 large chicken wings
1/2 tsp Chinese wine
1/2 tsp sesame oil
1 tbsp light soy sauce
2 tbsp black soy sauce
2 tbsp oyster sauce
2 tbsp honey
salt and pepper to taste

Combine all the ingredients and marinate the chicken wings for 6 hours. Bake in oven at 450 degrees Fahrenheit for 20 minutes.

If you have more chicken wings, double the amount of marinade and put the marinade in a ziplock or plastic bag. Put each chicken wing in the plastic bag and coat each chicken wing with the marinade.

14 Comments

Filed under Asian Snacks, Malaysian Food

14 responses to “Barbequed Chicken Wings

  1. wmw

    What a coincidence, I had some lovely grilled chicken wings for lunch today….luckily, or else, I’ll have to look for some now…in the wee hours of the morning! Ha ha ha…

  2. Chicken wings are my absolute favorite. I can eat chicken wings morning, noon, night, whenever. Mmmmmm.

  3. peter chong

    Hi Lee Ping,
    Your photo on the baked chicken wings look so scrumptious and delicious.
    I have bought some chicken wings recently and mom prepared them in similar fashion. They tasted good.
    Good luck and happy cooking.
    Papa and mom

  4. Hey! another oven recipe I can do, LOL!

    Hmm, ziplock bag. Something uncommon here.

    Oh yeah, since you are an expert of sorts on cooking, what’s the cooking temperature for pizza, LOL!

  5. Dear WMW,
    Were the chicken wings that you just eat any good?
    Did you take a photo of it? I would love to link to it.

    Dear Kopi Soh,
    If you like chicken wings that much, I highly recommend this recipe because the skin is just a touch crispy (less cholesterol), yet the meat is juicy and tender.

    Dearest Pa,
    Sure. I will grill chicken wings for you, only if you promise that you will eat in moderation.

    Jonzz,
    Ziplock bag is just a plastic bag with a zipper at the end. You can substitute ziplock bag with a clean plastic bag. You can use less marinade if you marinade the chicken wings in a plastic bag. Seal the plastic bag tightly and start to rub the marinade all over the chicken wings.
    p/s The temperature to bake a pizza is 450 degrees fahrenheit. For more information, please refer to my recent post of homemade pizza.

  6. alice

    Love chicken wings but too little meat. Will try with chicken thighs.

  7. Hello, Mrs HBT! How are you? I was ‘missing’ for a week from the blogosphere as my hub and I were by the Mediterranean relaxing during his birthday trip treat.

    One American professor once published a marinade that included apple cider vinegar, which gave the wings a nice tanginess. Yours looks wonderful, too.
    Must try it soon although I haven’t yet seen rice wine in the shops in these here parts.

  8. How I wish I have a new oven…. can those wings fly over here to my plate?

  9. Hi Lee Ping
    This is another of my kids’ favourite. You have reminded me that I should be cooking them again soon.
    I do not bake the chicken wings but grill them instead to give it a bit of bbq flavour.
    Thanks for the reminder.

  10. Dear Alice,
    Yes, you can use the same marinade recipe for chicken thigh as well. I admit eating chicken wing is an acquired taste. As this marinade contains honey, it burns easily, you may have to keep an eye on your chicken while baking in the oven.

    Dear Argus,
    Welcome back. I just saw a couple of photos you took from Paris. I think if I were in that museum?, I would be tempted to touch that statue as well. So, it is good that you mention that touching status is not allowed. Can you speak French?
    p/s Rice wine can be substituted with any other cooking wine. Your comment marinade with apple cider vinegar gives the meat a little tanginess. I agree. Since, I am still in the learning process and I try not to deviate too much from the recipe book.

    Dear Teckiee,
    Still no oven, huh? Your comment, “can those wings fly over here to my plate?” is funny. On a serious note, you can try grilling these chicken wings instead. Hang the chicken wings on a rod and keep them about one or two inches from the heat source and turn them periodically while they grill.

    Dear Judy,
    Thanks for your suggestion on using the grill. In fact, the original recipe in the book, calls for grilling. If you do grill, just keep an eye on the chicken wings as it burns easily, since it has honey in the recipe. The link that I mentioned in my article, Lyrical Lemongrass Grilled Chicken Wings shows the grill for grilling the chicken wings in Malaysia.

  11. V

    Love Chicken Wings! Thanks for the recipe. Btw, may I link you too?

  12. Dear V (East meets West Kitchen),

    You are welcome. Hope you enjoy making the chicken wings and sure, feel free to link me. That reminds me, I need to reorganize my blogroll. I think you will fall into the Mom bloggers category. What do you think?

  13. Your chicken wings look delicious. Next time I have a craving, I won’t need to drive all the way to Jln Alor to get my fix. hehe.

  14. Dear Lyrical Lemongrass,

    Thanks for your compliments. Receiving compliment from a food critic like yourself is an honor. By the way, thanks for the photos. I love the gigantic BBQ pit grill shown in your article.

Leave a Reply

