Swiss Roll With Coffee Mousse Cream

Thank you Seadragon of corner cafe blog for this recipe!

Before you attempt this recipe, there are 2 kitchen equipments that I recommend buying: a scale (one that can measure in grams) and a hand mixer. With a little prayer and patience, you too can make this beautiful and delicious roll.

I love this recipe because the cake is light, spongy and not too sweet. The cream is also light with a hint of coffee flavor from the liquor Kahlua.

Baking911 is a good resource for trouble shooting all kinds of Baking problems. For example, how to cream whip answers the following questions:

How much gelatin should you use for stabilized whipped cream?
For 1 cup of cream: use 1/2 teaspoon gelatin soaked in 1 tablespoon cold water.
For 2 cups of cream: use 1 teaspoon gelatin soaked in 2 tablespoons cold water.
For 6 cups of cream: use 1 tablespoon soaked in 1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoon cold water.

How to create mousse?
Gelatin gives whipping cream a firm, mousse-like texture giving it many uses. Because gelatin stabilizes the whipped cream, it does not weep (bleed water after awhile).

More tips from Baking911:

To prepare gelatin, soak plain gelatin in cold water for 5 minutes while the gelatin absorbs the water and softens. Dissolve by placing it in a container over a small pot of simmering water. Let cool but not get cold.

Place bowl and beaters or wire whisk in the freezer for at least 15+ minutes before using. They must be super cold. Most often overlooked is the room where you beat the cream in must also be cold. Place the bowl in a larger bowl filled with ice water and whip it in the coldest area of your house.

 

 

Recipe adapted from Cafe of the East.

Lee Ping’s note: The photo shows a smaller baking pan. I attempted this recipe again using a larger baking pan (18″x26″x1″).

[Ingredients]
Sponge Sheet (baking sheet pan 18″x26″x1″):
6 egg yolks
60g caster sugar (A)
4 tablespoons canola oil
4 tablespoons water
60g plain flour
60g cornflour
2 tablespoon milk powder
1 teaspoon baking powder
6 egg whites
1/2 teaspoon cream of tartar
100g caster sugar (B)

Coffee Mousse Filling (double this recipe if you like more cream):
1 tablespoon instant coffee granules
2 tablespoons hot water
1 x 10g-sachet (or 3 teaspoons) gelatine powder
1 tablespoon Kahlúa
300ml thickened (whipping) cream
50g (4 tablespoons) pure icing sugar, sifted

[Preparation]
For the Sponge Sheet:
1. Preheat oven to 356 degrees Fahrenheit or 180 degrees Celsius. Grease and line (bottom only) a baking sheet pan. Sift together plain flour, cornflour, milk powder and baking powder, set aside.

2. Whisk egg whites and cream of tartar in another mixing bowl until foamy with tiny even small bubbles. Add caster sugar (B) gradually, spoonful by spoonful, whisking until soft peaks formed.

Lee Ping’s note: I always whip my egg whites first because egg white is very sensitive. Soft peaks will not be formed if oil is present in the mixing bowl or in the hand mixer. Since egg yolk is not as sensitive, I can reuse the same hand mixer attachment from whisking the egg whites.

3. Sift the flour mixture into another large mixing bowl. Make a hole in the center and put in egg yolks, caster sugar (A), oil and water. Whisk from the center first. While beating, slowly move your whisk to incorporate the flour and beat until everything is mixed well.

4. Fold 1/3 of the meringue into the egg yolk batter lightly and gently. Repeat twice more with the rest of the meringue.

Lee Ping’s note: Make sure the egg white mixture is thoroughly mixed in with the egg yolk mixture. Don’t be afraid, keep folding until you see only one color.

5. Pour the batter into the prepared pan, spread evenly. Tap the pan lightly on the bench a couple of times to get rid of any large air bubbles in the batter.

6. Bake in preheated oven for about 20 minutes (do not overbake or it will tend to crack when rolling up), or until the surface feels dry.

7. Remove from oven and stand 5 minutes. Loosen sides of cake from the pan if necessary. Evenly sprinkle a little caster sugar over the surface of the cake, put a sheet of baking paper over the cake, then a cake rack over that. Turn over to release the cake from the pan. Remove the lining paper on the bottom of the cake. Turn the cake, right side up, back into its pan to cool until lukewarm.

Lee Ping’s note: I just read that when it is rolled up as soon as it comes out of the oven, it is still flexible enough to roll without cracking. It is left to cool in this shape, then unrolled, filled with filling, and then rolled up again.

For the Filling:
1. Place hot water in a glass measuring jug. Add coffee granules to dissolve then sprinkle with gelatine, stir until gelatine is dissolved. Add Kahlúa and mix well. If there are still lumpy bits, put the glass jug in the microwave and heat for about 5-10 seconds to completely dissolve the gelatine. Cool slightly.
2. Whip cream and icing sugar until firm peaks form. Scoop about 1 tablespoon of the whipped cream and mix into the gelatine mixture to loosen it. Then pour the gelatine mixture into the whipped cream and mix quickly. (In hot weather you might want to chill this coffee mousse for about 15 minutes before using.)

For the Swiss Roll:
Put a sheet of baking paper on the bench, turn the cake onto the paper, crust side down. Spread the filling onto the cake, to within 2cm of the edges. Grasp the edge of the paper and roll up the cake using the paper as a guide (just like rolling sushi). Once the cake is rolled up, lightly tightened the paper so that the paper wraps around the cake. Leave for about 30 minutes until the rolled-up cake is stable. Remove the paper and put the cake in a covered container and chill in the refrigerator until ready to serve.

 


26 Comments

Filed under Desserts

26 responses to “Swiss Roll With Coffee Mousse Cream

  1. Since you love food so much, I’ve decided to give you the ‘Favourite Food’ tag. LOL..

  2. Jonzz,
    I have just been tagged by Kopi Soh. What are the rules? Can I do the same tag twice in less than a month?

  3. LOL, you don’t have to do the same tag twice.

  4. Jonzz,
    Thanks for the tag, though. 🙂

  5. I thought I made a comment here when I commented on family.

    Anyway, I just wanted to say that the swiss roll is perfect, texture and even the rolling…no cracks. First time making swiss roll? Great job! I feel like making it too. 🙂

  6. Dear Judy,

    Yes, it is my first time making swiss roll. I am quite proud of myself actually. But, I have to credit Cafe of the East for a perfect recipe. This recipe is more catered to the Asian taste, i.e. less heavy and very spongy.

    p/s I just made another round of swiss roll for tonight’s potluck. Not quite so successful. It still tastes good, just doesn’t look attractive. The cream melted when I rolled it up because I did not let the cake cool down. That, and I forgot to pray…forgot to pray for patience.

  7. SeaDragon

    Lee Ping,
    Great job! The Swiss roll looks lovely. Glad you like the recipe so much, we all learn from each other 🙂

  8. Hi Lee Ping,
    Been following your blog for awhile, and ready liked your swiss roll. Very nice. Guess it’s time to try my hand on it too. 🙂

  9. wmw

    Swiss Roll looks good. Good job on the pic….Getting better and better! By the way, here’s another tip. When taking photos of objects, it’s better to have it in odd numbers….Either one or three or five (so on and so on) swiss rolls looks better than even numbers.

  10. Dear HaiLong (SeaDragon),

    “We all learn from each other.” You are so gifted in making desserts, yet so humble.

    I cannot thank you enough for your delicious recipe. I made more Swiss Roll tonight for potluck at a friend’s home. Although it did not look perfect, there were no leftovers. The host of the party even took two pieces!

    Dear Valerie,

    I guess, you have been one of my silent readers (until now). Thanks for your continuous support.

    Dear WMW,

    “Sometimes you get what you give” I feel bad that I have nothing to offer you. I thank you from the bottom of my heart for this photography tip. From now on, it is 3 and not 2.

    Thanks again!

  11. Looks gorgeous!! I don’t have the guts to make this cake..looks tough to me! hehe. I’m just a lazy bum. 🙂

  12. Dear Lyrical Lemongrass,

    Thanks for the compliments. It is actually not that complicated. You are not a lazy bum. 🙂 Just look at the love and passion you devote to your blog, one would believe that if you spend a little time in the kitchen, you will be able to produce this cake as well.

  13. Big Boys Oven,

    Thanks for the compliments. It is also yummy when it is cold. 🙂

  14. The swiss roll looks really good. I’ve never attempted to make a swiss roll but after looking at ur pics, I probably will try it soon. Thanks for sharing! : )

  15. Dear Blur Mommy,
    Thanks for the compliments. Please let me know how it turns out when you attempt this recipe.

  16. Janice

    Hello Li Ping,

    The largest baking pan I can fit into my oven is approximately 17″ x 12″. The size that you use in the recipe seems to be quite a bit larger. If I use the one that I have, do I need to adjust the baking time and/or ingredients?

    Thank you,

    Janice

  17. Dear Janice,
    Originally when I tried this recipe, I simply used my multi-purpose baking pan. After a few successes, I have since bought a non-stick swiss roll pan which is the size used by SeaDragon from Cafe of the East blog. Here’s the original recipe.

    My multipurpose pan is 18″ x 26″ and is almost twice the size of the pan that SD used. I just doubled all the ingredients to make the cake but kept the same temperature as SD.

    I believe a swiss roll pan can fit into your oven. I recommend that you use SD’s recipe. SD is also very good at answering questions. So, feel free to leave him a comment if you need to.

    Have fun making and eating this cake. I sure did!

  18. Pingback: Swiss Roll. « .the Joys of eating.

  19. Dina

    Thanks for sharing this recipe. I have been on a quest to make a good Chinese Swiss roll. I have tried several recipes without success. The cakes were hard and dry, unlike the soft, light, moist cake I get from the bakery. I have not try this recipe yet, but it looks very much like the one in the Chinese bakery. I want to try this but I have a few questions. Is cornstarch the same as cornflour? I have a hard time finding cornflour at the American supermarkets. I see corn meal, corn mix, and masa flour. Where can I find it? In an Asian grocery store? Also, is plain flour the same as “all purpose flour”?

    Thanks

    • Dear Dina,
      For my daughter’s 5th birthday a few days ago, I made her the swiss roll. No leftovers, as usual. It is moist and the coffee flavor is simply delightful.

      Is cornstarch the same as cornflour? yes, cornstarch is the same as cornflour. cornstarch is NOT corn meal, corn mix or masa flour. Yeah, it does seem strange to use cornstarch in a cake especially when cornstarch is used to thicken stock or used to marinate chicken but it works, it really does work!

      Is plain flour the same as “all purpose flour”? Yes.

      This recipe originally came from a blogger from Australia. So, the terminology used is a little different from what we are used to.

      A few more notes: Do prepare the cake and let it cool before you whip your cream. Since the cream has gelatin, it will become solid and thus, make it tough to spread if you leave it in a cool place for longer periods of time. If the cake is not cool enough when you spread the whipcream, the cream will melt.

      • Dina

        Thank you for your super quick response. I finally had some time today to make the cake. I was very satisfied with the result. The cake turned out very moist and light, just like the bakery. I made a vanilla cream and added finely chopped pineapple as the filling.

        Thank you for the tip on beating the egg white first. This save me from having to wash the beater. Also, thanks for suggesting to make the whipped cream last. The other times I did it first and it came out lumpy.

        I am new to baking. I am trying to impress my husband, two little kids, and a mother-in-law. (: Hubby likes breads and mother-in-law likes cakes. I even bought a bread maker to try out your corn and ham recipe. I will attempt that next. I think this site is wonderful as it not only teaches about cooking, but it also help share the Gospel. BTW, I am a Vietnamese Christian. I also enjoy the East Cafe site.

        Thanks

  20. Mun

    Hi,
    I tried the recipe today and it tasted delicious! However, minutes after I took it out of the oven, it sank to half its height. Should open a slit in the oven door and let it cool 5 to 10 minutes before removing it from the oven?

    • Dear Mun,
      I have heard that removing the cake slowly from the oven will help the cake maintain its height.

      Recently, my friends and I made some mooncake and the skin expanded and eventually broke. I am guessing that I beat the eggs too much causing it to rise too much.

      I usually dont “slit my oven open and wait for 5 minutes” before removing the swiss cake. But, I do let it cool down completely before applying the cream. At this time, I am sorry, I am unable to diagnose the problem of your cake sinking to half its height.

      Thanks for your comment.

      • Mun

        Hi mrshbt,
        I think I know what the problem is. This morning when I ate my swiss roll, the texture was a bit too moist. I think I may not have put enough plain flour and cornflour. ( I used 1/2 cup for each since I do not have a kitchen scale). I will try this recipe again one day with more flour or I might go buy a kitchen scale. Thanks for sharing this recipe tho. It has been the greatest swiss roll recipe I have tried! 🙂
        Mun

      • Dear Mun,
        I was quite moved by your recent comment. Your immediate response was not questioning the recipe when your cake sank.

        If you were my neighbor, I would let you borrow my scales. I have a total of 4!

        Now, I am motivated to convert the grams to cups. So that my readers wont have to run out and get a scale. However, this is not a simple task. Christine of Christine’s recipe blog has an article on converting from grams to cups:
        http://en.christinesrecipes.com/2011/03/converting-grams-to-cups.html

Leave a Reply

