Lord I’m Coming Home…

Last Sunday, a brother shared the story of a prodigal son. I have heard of this story many times but this time, his version deeply moved me.

There was a young man who left home, after 20 years, he came back home to visit his Mom. From far, he could see an old lady with white long hair squatting down washing clothes with her bare hands. He knew that was his mother. Instead of walking towards his Mom, he took his wife and 2 kids to a hotel room.

That night, alone, he went back to visit his Mom. When he got there, he told the old lady that he had a letter from her son. The old lady was thrilled and invited him in for a cup of coffee. It had been 20 years after all, so the old lady did not immediately recognize his own son. After she served this man his coffee, she shouted with joy, “You are my son! That is how my son stirs his coffee.” A mother never forgets her own children.

The Bible talked about the father of the prodigal son welcoming his son home after his son had lost all his money. From far, he already know it was his son by the way his son walked. It wasn’t a coincidence that he saw his son that day. In fact, he had been waiting for his son, since the day that his son left home.

I’ve wandered far away from God,
Now I’m coming home;
The paths of sin too long I’ve trod,
Lord, I’m coming home.

Coming home, coming home,
Nevermore to roam,
Open wide Thine arms of love,
Lord, I’m coming home.

I’ve wasted many precious years,
Now I’m coming home;
I now repent with bitter tears,
Lord, I’m coming home.

I’m tired of sin and straying, Lord,
Now I’m coming home;
I’ll trust Thy love, believe Thy Word,
Lord, I’m coming home.

My soul is sick, my heart is sore,
Now I’m coming home;
My strength renew, my hope restore,
Lord, I’m coming home.

My only hope, my only plea,
Now I’m coming home;
That Jesus died, and died for me.
Lord, I’m coming home.

I need His cleansing blood, I know,
Now I’m coming home;
O wash me whiter than the snow,
Lord, I’m coming home.

Thanks sister Francis for the link to beautiful hymms, such as this one.

4 Comments

Filed under Stream in the Hip Desert 新沙漠甘泉

4 responses to “Lord I’m Coming Home…

  1. Thanks for putting up that link. Now I have more resources for worship leading. =)

  2. Jonzz,

    You are welcome! It is a great link with inspirational Christian Hymns.

  3. alice

    The Shepherd knows his sheep and his sheep knows His voice.
    I wonder what was written in his letter. Hmmm…..

  4. Dear Alice,

    How are you?

    “The Shepherd knows his sheep and his sheep knows His voice.” Indeed, the mother recognized his son from the way his son stirred his coffee! And the son recognized his mother from far, even after 20 years.

    I wonder what the son wrote in his letter as well. Perhaps, telling his mother that he is doing well, married with kids and will pay her a visit in the near future.

    p/s It was a very emotional service for me this past Sunday. That same brother told us another story. A story about a woman seeing a dove outside her window. As she watched the dove, she heard God telling her, “I am bringing you home tonight.” So, she started to write letters to her family and friends. That night, God took her home. As I hear that story, I thought of the dove tree in your article.

Leave a Reply

