Bah Kua (Homemade Jerky) 肉乾

We used to drive 6 hours to Vancouver, B.C. Canada to buy authentic “Mei Jen Siang/Bee Cheng Hiang 美珍香” Bah Kua. They are quite pricey as well. The store would vacuum pack for us and put a label that can go through custom. However, our hearts still beat fast when we pass immigration for fear that we cannot bring this snack over to the US.

These days, when we have the crave, we make our own.



Ingredients:

1 lb minced meat, with some fats
1 1/2 tbsp fish sauce
1 tbsp dark soy sauce
slightly less than 1 tbsp of light soy sauce
1 tbsp cooking wine
1/2 cup sugar
1/4 tsp cooking oil

Steps:

Put minced meat in a big bowl. Add in seasonings. Use chopsticks and stir in one direction until meat becomes gluey.

Put the meat on SILPAT (as shown in photo) or parchment paper. Cover with a big plastic cling wrap. Use a roller to roll the meat to 2mm thick.

Place in baking tray and bake in preheated oven 257’F (125’C) for 20 minutes. After that, increase the temperature to 356’F (180’C) and bake for about 20 – 30 minutes. Then, remove the meat from the oven and flip over on a piece of parchment paper and continue to bake for about 10 minutes. The time used to bake the meat depends on the thickness of the meat.

I also tried Lily‘s Pork Long Yoke recipe and it was a great success. I used every ingredient in her recipe except for licorice. I also substituted rose wine with regular Chinese wine. It tasted and looked great. The grill marks (from my Panini maker) not only enhanced the look but enhanced the taste as well.

To prevent my 6 year old from gobble the Pork Jerky up too quickly, I added some red pepper flakes.

13 Comments

Filed under Malaysian Food

13 responses to “Bah Kua (Homemade Jerky) 肉乾

  1. This is a repost from my original post on Monotony of Daily Routine. I thought it was quite unappetizing to include such a delicious recipe in the same post as potty training. Don’t you think?

  2. peter chong

    Hi Lee Ping,
    Your Bah Kua looks so delicious and I am sure William and the children will enjoy eating them. We hope that we will be able to savour them one day during our sojourn in Portland.
    Love
    Papa and mom

  3. wow..home made pat kua..i guess we take things for granted being malaysians..pity you guys..6 hour drive!..ouch

  4. Dearest Pa,
    I must think of a way to make Bah Kua diabetic friendly. As of right now, it is still too sugary for you. 😦

    LotsofCravings,
    Yeah, ouch indeed. Driving with 2 kids fighting in the back seat was a challenge. And now with 3 kids, it is even harder. But, it is a blessing in disguise. I’m learning how to cook all sorts of Malaysian foods. That is why I appreciate you and many other Malaysian Food bloggers who take the time to write about the different kinds of food. I get a glimpse of the real thing and try to replicate here.

  5. We do tend to take a lot of things for granted. Homemade is always better, but I would never think of going through all that trouble! hehe. I suppose I have to be thankful for my blessings…in whatever form. 🙂

  6. Dear Lyrical Lemongrass,
    You are right, homemade is better, you can control the amount of sugar, salt, the quality of the meat, etc. Compare with the Mille Crepe Cake, Bah Kua is really not much trouble to make. 🙂

  7. lee ping
    i think splenda can replace the sugar
    good job

  8. Dear Auntie Lily,
    Yeah, my poor Dad is diabetic, so he has to eat everything in moderation and cut down on his sugar and carbohydrate. I have heard of splenda. However, I have been hesitant to use it because of the rumors that splenda may cause cancer.
    p/s I plan to make Siew Pao again next week or this weekend, using your recipe. 🙂

  9. alice

    This post always reminds me of how I came to know you. I still make bah kua to eat with my bread sometimes. Thanks for the recipe. I improvise a bit. I use thin slices of meat, marinate them and then put them in the toaster to grill.

  10. alice

    Do post your siew pao pix. and recipe. I think it’s too much hassle for me to make it and nowadays I hardly make any of these things due to lack of time. I used to make steamed paos using baking powder from a recipe introduced in a TV program. I think Lily has the recipe too.

  11. Dear Alice,

    It was sometime in March, wasn’t it? I am so glad that you came by and started leaving comments. Your comments kept me writing. I am very grateful.

    I think your idea of using thin slices of meat, marinate and grill is brilliant! It is also healthy. Like you suggested, these thin slices of meat goes well with bread. How about adding crunchy lettuce with that? (Inspiration from WMW’s crispy lettuce makis.)

    Making Paos (Steamed Buns) or any other dough like Pizza dough is a breeze for me now because I just have to throw all the ingredients into my bread machine and push the start button. The bread machine has a constant temperature that will ensure perfect rise each time.

    p/s I love Auntie Lily’s blog. So far, all the recipes I tried from her blog has been successful.

  12. Hi Lee Ping
    I was at Lily’s blog to leave a comment and saw a link to yours. Thought I should drop by to say hello. You have a nice blog here. Will try to make this blog my regular visit.

    I actually made bak kua (Lily’s recipe) today and therefore thought I should comment here. 🙂

    God bless.

  13. Dear Judy,

    Thanks for your compliments. You are welcome always. I love guests!

    I have linked you on my blog! Will drop by after I finish writing this comment. 🙂

Leave a Reply

