Value Life

Last year, one of my good friend found out she had cancer. Her cancer was in the 2nd last stage. I remember going to her house to visit her after her operation to remove the cancerous tumor. At that time, I was pregnant with my 3rd child. Five years ago, we became friends because our children are similar in age (only a month or two apart).

As I sat there listening to her experiences, she assured me that everything is OK. She told me that she had left her life in God’s hands. If God decides to take her home, God already has plans for her 2 young children, who were both below ages of 8 at that time.

Miraculously, she battled the chemotherapy and her cancer triumphantly. Now, she eats better and exercise almost daily because she values life.

The pressure of difficult times makes us value life. Every time our life is spared and given back to us after a trial, it is like a new beginning. We better understand its value and thereby apply ourselves more effectively for God and for humankind. And the pressure we endure helps us to understand the trials of others, equipping us to help them and to sympathize with them.

It is my prayer that I value life now and not wait until I have trials, the kind of trials that my good friend went through.

8 Comments

Filed under Stream in the Hip Desert 新沙漠甘泉

8 responses to “Value Life

  1. Lee Ping, really appreciate your email. Yes, many of us (me especially) don’t know what the value of life is until it hits us hard. Weather its a sickness, or something else. What i told you really hit me hard. I’m disappointed at myself that I have to learn it the hard way… but glad that I’m still alive. Thanks again.

  2. yeah sometimes people are stubborn enough and have to learn it the hard way..i think i more or less learned to treasure my life more..but theres always that flaw or two that i m trying to polish up..after all whos perfect?

  3. Like to read your post. Always like reading 心灵鸡汤!

  4. Kenny Mah

    Hi there, dear!

    Just a quick drop by to let you know how much I appreciated your last comment. I’m still quite busy but I continue to take care of my health and exercising — I agree with what you said about valuing life now and not waiting for trials to happen before I take stock of what I have.

    I’m very blessed to have a friend like you! Thank you so much for keeping me in your prayers… It surely made a difference in my weeks and days. 🙂

    Love,
    Kenny.

  5. alice

    I have a metabolic disorder and have to watch what I eat but once in a while I indulge myself. I value my vision even more after being legally blind in one eye, though my better eye is also diseased in its initial stage. I am thankful to God that I can still see with that eye.

  6. The best way to learn is just to dive straight in and do it right? So girl, you’ve been tagged by me. This meme is an easy one and I oso answer your tag question in my comment box, any further questions you can always find me at the kopitiam 😛
    Enjoy!

  7. wmw

    I know what your post means really. I learn to value life and to enjoy it everyday. For everyday that I wake up to, I’m thankful that God has given me yet another wonderful day ahead. If you read my blog from the beginning, I started it partially from being inspired by my cancer-stricken friend who started her blog, seeing her strength and her faith in God. She has left and is praying for us in heaven now. She was never bitter till the end but sometimes sad that she had to leave her husband and son behind. She taught me strength and understanding that God works in ways we don’t know of.

    After my dad passed away, I saw life differently and knew all things happened for a reason, be it good or bad. Somewhere down the line, it always turn out to be something good, be it something tangible or non tangible. But that’s how life is; we get knocked down, we just pick ourselves up and move on. I just told someone this line that I heard from somewhere “We may not be able to make our days longer, but we are able to make it better”.

  8. Dear Teckiee,
    You are most welcome! I read your post this morning. Good to see you back stronger than ever.
    LotsofCravings,
    You are absolutely right, no one is perfect. I am so glad that you treasure your life more and even try to polish your flaws… The minute we realize that we have flaws, we move one step towards maturity.
    Dear Beckysmum,
    心灵鸡汤 Chicken Soup for the Soul, thanks for your kind words. I am learning and growing as I am doing these posts.
    Kenny Mah,
    Those who has read my blog, my sisters, my children, some of my friends, even my husband know you by name. You have definitely made a GOOD difference in my life and many others. I have been asked in private if you believe in God. A couple of us have been praying for you. Proverbs 16:3 Commit to the Lord everything you do. Then your plans will succeed.
    Dear Alice,
    You are a great testament of faith. I have much to learn from you sister in Christ. A brother at church shared with us his story about his Mom. When he went back to see her in China, his Mom’s hand was broken but she told him not to be sad. “I thank God that it is my left hand that is broken and not my right. Otherwise I cannot copy bible verses anymore.” And she continued to spread the gospel everywhere she went.
    Dear FireHorse (Kopi Soh),
    This is a little late:) Thanks again for the tag. Now, I understand how to post a tag.
    Dear WMW,
    I have been reading your blog diligently, ever since I found out about your blog. As a matter of fact, I remember reading your post on your good friend, a year after her death. Thanks for your quote, “We may not be able to make our days longer, but we are able to make it better”. Yes, we have a choice to be sad or be happy and make our days better. On the days when I am one with God, I do find my days “longer”, I am able to accomplish many task in a short amount of time.

Leave a Reply

