Tiramisu

Homemade Tiramisu! It is actually quite simple.

 

I used prepackaged ladyfingers (little tiny sponge cakes). First, I whipped 3 egg whites with a little sugar. In a separate bowl, I whipped 8 oz mascarpone cheese and 3 egg yolks with 1 tbsp of brandy, 2 tbsp of espresso (coffee) and slightly less than half a cup of sugar. Then, fold the egg white mixture into the mascarpone mixture.

To assemble the Tiramisu, I use a container (as shown), lined with a sheet of plastic. Prepare a cup of espresso. Layer the sponge cake on the plastic. Sprinkle espresso all over the sponge cake. Spread the mascarpone cheese mixture over the espresso-soaked ladyfingers. Repeat until no more ladyfingers. Put the container into the freezer and freeze for at least 4 hours. (Note: This recipe contains uncooked eggs. So, freeze it long enough to kill bacteria in the eggs. I have a friend that advised me to freeze it for at least 2 days.) To serve, sprinkle some cocoa powder over the top of the Tiramisu.

 

When kids help out in the kitchen, make sure they wash their hands first.

Editor’s note:
If you live in Oregon, you can buy mascarpone cheese from Trader’s Joes. Usually, you can also get the ladyfingers from Trader’s Joes. But, when I was there last Monday, they told me that ladyfingers is a seasonal item and they don’t carry it now. Fred Meyer carries ladyfingers in their bakery department. Alternatively, you can make your own ladyfingers by slicing up plain sponge cake into strips.

3 Comments

Filed under Desserts

3 responses to “Tiramisu

  1. I have some homemade tiramisu recently too! But I left out the eggs (since I reckon I have to finish up the tiramisu fast) with the uncooked eggs in the tiramisu. Yours look real fluffy!

  2. alice

    Your kids will turn out to be a great cook like you. I used to help my mom cook and I sort of like to try out recipes. Got sick of tired the same thing.

  3. Dear Alice,

    My 3 kids (including the 22 month old baby), loves to help out in the kitchen. They make more mess than help but I would rather them play in the kitchen than watch TV or play computer games.

    I am always trying out new recipes as well. In fact, I just visited EFTL, I think I will try her stuffed fried fish. With all those spices, lemongrass, onion, ginger, garlic, lime leafs, belacan, chili, basil, mint leafs and lime, it has to taste good.

Leave a Reply

