Mille Crepe Cake

I first learned about this dessert from A Whiff of Lemongrass blog. This dessert made it to my list of hip desserts. I came up with my own version of chocolate cream and adapted Dave Lieberman’s recipe for the crepe.

After a couple of attempts, I was able to produce the 12 lacy crepes layered with clouds of whipped light pastry chocolate cream. To achieve the desired height of about 20 crepes, I carefully cut the stack of crepes into 2 halves and stacked up the halves. My first attempt was not too successful because I did not wait for the crepe to cool down before I spread the chocolate cream. The cream was not firm enough causing the crepe to slide around when we were eating the cake. Subsequent attempt was a success because I let the crepe cool down before I applied the chocolate cream between the layers. Also, the crepes were thin enough that when we cut through with a fork, it wasn’t an impediment.

 

Crepe

  • 3/4 cup flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • 1 tbsp melted butter (I substituted with olive oil)
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

I used a blender to blend all of the ingredients for crepe. You can certainly use a fork to beat the ingredients if you do not have a blender. Make sure you break up all the flour lumps. If you are not sure, you can strain the batter before making your crepe.

To make the crepe, I used a non stick pan. (No oil was used on the pan.) I pour a little batter on the heated pan and swirl the pan around to make a circle. When the sides begin to brown, carefully, flip the crepe over. My first few crepes were not perfect circles. That’s OK. After I stacked up the crepes, the imperfections were hardly visible. My last crepe was too small to stack, but my daughter happily ate it.


Whipped light pastry Chocolate Cream

  • 200 ml heavy whipping cream
  • 80 gm chocolate shaved from a bar of dark chocolate
  • about 1 tbsp sugar

Melt the chocolate shavings in a double broiler. If you don’t have a double broiler, use a smaller pot and a stainless steel mixing bowl at the top, as shown in the picture grid above. While the chocolate is melting, in a different mixing bowl, whip the heavy whipping cream with sugar. The amount of sugar can be adjusted according to your personal preference. When the chocolate is melted, slowly mix into the whipped cream and mix thoroughly.

 

 

edited July 11, 2010: Note – I just tried making crepes using a stainless steel pan and it was a success. Thought that I add this additional information for people who don’t have non-stick pan or who has concerns about using non-stick pans.

12 Comments

Filed under Desserts

12 responses to “Mille Crepe Cake

  1. I’m so glad you got to try the recipe, mrshbt! Your chocolate cream recipe looks easier to make…I think I shall try it next time. The key is to make the cream as light and fluffy as possible. The other thing I do to hide the imperfections at the side is to coat the entire cake with cream. 🙂

  2. Dear Lyrical Lemongrass,

    Thanks for introducing me to this “hip” dessert. I have gotten great reviews from my family. My husband loved the touch of saltiness from the crepe with the light and fluffy thin layer of chocolate cream.

    Thanks for your suggestion on coating the cake. What I will try next is perhaps cover the top with chocolate glaze, or create a crystallize top like in creme brulee as shown on your blog.

    I should try to make this when my family is sleeping because they usually start nibbling on the crepes before I could assemble the cake. 🙂

  3. OMG! Another “tomorrow star of baking”!!!! U r so talented but just wondering when i can i try yr food huh??

  4. alice

    Sorry, long time didn’t comment. Looks yummy but too much hassle for me to make it. Moreover, have to watch my cholestrol too.

  5. Jackson,
    Thanks for the compliments. However, I am far from being “tomorrow star of baking”.
    p/s Next time you are in my neighborhood, I will cut you a piece of freshly homemade Mille Crepe Cake 🙂
    Dear Alice,
    That is OK, I understand your situation. You are right, this cake was a little time consuming.

  6. Mitsuki

    Hi mrshbt,
    I’ve just read your whole recipe and I’m going to try making it, it looks easier then all the others I’ve read thank you, I just have one question, I don’t have a non-stick pan what should I do?

    • Hi Mitsuki,
      I just tried making crepes using one of my stainless pan and it was a success. I heat up my AllClad stainless steel small pan and coat it with a thin layer of butter. Then, pour in a ladle of crepe batter. Carefully, give it a swirl spreading the batter around the pan. I used medium heat while doing this. Then place the pan back onto the stove. The sides of the crepe will start to turn light brown. Carefully, use a thin spatula to loosen the sides and when it is ready to be flip, flip it and cook it for a few more seconds. Remove from the pan and repeat the steps until all the batter is used up. I made this one by one at the stove while my girls enjoy eating them warm at the kitchen table.

      • Mitsuki

        Okay, thank you so much for not only telling me but also trying it out. Again Thank You

        Mitsuki

  7. Akashiya Moka (Marron)

    Thank you soooooo much Because its been my dream to make one of these! THANK YOU SOOOOO Much!=W=

  8. Akashiya Moka (Marron)

    Also, I loved how you put the pictures to show it made it sooooo easy for me to make and thank you again!!

  9. Akashiya Moka (Marron)

    how did you make the whip cream?

    • Dear Marron,
      The 200 ml heavy whipping cream in the recipe above is store bought. Whipping cream usually is found in the fresh milk section next to the half and half. (You could buy already whipped cream in a canister. Those are ready-to-use. However, many chefs prefer to whip their own cream.) I chose to whip my own cream, with the cream that I bought from the store. When you first pour out the cream, it looks like very thick milk. I would pour it into a big bowl and use my hand mixer to whip the cream. Special note: do not over-whip “heavy whipping cream”. It will turn into butter! I highly recommend you read this, http://www.baking911.com/howto/cream_whip.htm, if you have never whip your own cream before.

      The recipe to make chocolate whip cream is listed in the recipe above, under the heading “Whipped light pastry Chocolate Cream”.

Leave a Reply

