Business Lunch

I just had lunch with my husband and his colleague, Mr. KJ. Sitting next to Mr. KJ is his beautiful wife who just came from China. Had I known that they were coming to lunch with us, I would not have picked this restaurant because Mr. KJ’s wife is not used to American Food yet.

Mr. KJ was impressed by the slimness of my camera, so he began to snap a couple of photographs. I told him not to take a photo of me because I didn’t have makeup on. While I was uploading the photos, I thought the photos he took looked quite natural. I did not look bad at all. Glad that he did not figure out the zoom in button!

So, talking business will make you laugh like that!

I ordered the vege sandwich which had avocado, goat cheese, tomatoes, cucumber and some marionberry preserves. My husband and Mr.KJ both had the same Southwest Chicken sandwich. Mr. KJ’s wife had chicken salad served in a pita bread.

3 Comments

Filed under Places To Eat in Portland

3 responses to “Business Lunch

  1. Hey, you do not look like a mother who already gave birth 3 times! So slim lah you!

  2. alice

    lee ping,
    Yes, I agree with beckysmum. How did you keep your weight down with all those yummy food you cook?

  3. Dear Beckysmum and Alice,

    My weight lost story could be a post by itself.

    My first weight gain was when I first came to the US. I found the cheapest food to eat to stay warm and nourish, “potato and butter”. Each week, I bought a big bag of potato (only a $1 at that time).
    Wrap the potato in wet paper towel; put it in the microwave for a few minutes and my breakfast or lunch or dinner was served. I ate that for as long as I can remember until graduation. Then, I met and fell in love with a man, who later became my husband. I was determined to lose weight. For a period of 6 months, I ate mostly raw carrots and celery when I was hungry. I also exercised; I walked around the neighborhood next to my school. After a period of more than 6 months, I was able to lose some weight but not as thin as I am, now.

    My next weight gain was when I was almost 200 lbs when I delivered my first baby, eight years ago. When Little Tiger was born, she was only 6 lbs. So, you can see all the weight was on me, the mother. Throughout the entire pregnancy, the doctor put me on low salt and low fat diet. But, I was weak and yielded to food temptations, in particular, $2.99 “All You Can Eat Pizza”.

    To lose the weight that I gained during pregnancies is tough. But what was tougher to lose was the fat around my tummy. These days, before a feast, I will wear a tummy control underwear. Wearing the control also help tighten the skin around the tummy. After having 3 kids, I find my biggest challenge is keep fat above my waist. Perhaps, I should sleep in anti-gravity position!

Leave a Reply

