Faith Vs. Sight (Part 2)

I prayed for more faith in God, but what I really wanted was faith to change into sight.

Faith does not say, “I see this is good for me; therefore God must have sent it.” Instead faith declares, “God sent it; therefore it must be good for me.” Cowman

One Major Ingredient….

White Radish

 

 

Three Good Eats

 

Kimchi. Cut up pieces of white radish marinate with salt, sugar, red pepper flakes (from Korean store), garlic, ginger and green onion.
White Radish and Pork Bone Soup
White Radish Rice Cake. (I used shredded radish and rice flour, chinese sausage, dried shrimp, shallots and roasted pork. Lily has a complete recipe on her Lor Bak Ko page.)

 

 

Non-Drug Treatment For Cough

Raw Barley (Thanks FireHorse for this tip!) After boiling in water for 20 minutes, it is ready to be consumed with some rock sugar syrup.

Steamed Asian Pear with Rock Sugar
(Thanks Sister Rebecca for this recipe and the 川貝粉)

After I posted this, I received several more suggestion to cure my cough. I even found an article on Phlegm Remedy.
I received the following home remedy from a dear friend. If there’s a Chinese herbal medicine store, you might want to consider going there and buy 川貝粉. Take one tsp of 川貝粉 with warm water 3-4 times a day. If the powder is authentic, you will feel better very soon. If there’s no Chinese herbal medicine store nearby but a Chinese grocery store in town, buy 杏仁粉(almond powder) and drink it. That will be the second best option. In addition, if you can buy 白蘿蔔(Chinese white radish), cook in the soup or cook with dry shrimp. It doesn’t matter how you cook it, the most important thing is to EAT it. Don’t eat any spicy food or dry crackers. Drink a lot of warm water and clear broth. Don’t drink cold stuff. Don’t eat dairy food such as milk, cheese and butter because they produce mucus in our body, which means you will cough even more.

One reader suggested boiling water with mint leaves and rock sugar. I thought that idea is brilliant. How about steeping a teabag with that?

 

 

The Next American Idols?

11 Comments

Filed under Asian Snacks, hipfood, Stream in the Hip Desert 新沙漠甘泉

11 responses to “Faith Vs. Sight (Part 2)

  1. I am reminded of this verse in Matthew 6 where Jesus said, … do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own. Thanks…I needed to read this today.

  2. Dear Lyrical Lemongrass,

    I was visiting your blog and drooling over Hakka Abacus Seeds and Char Kway Teow. You put in so much passion into your blog and it shows.

    Reading your blog makes me miss being 21.

    Thanks for coming by.

  3. mrshbt: Thanks for visiting! Yes, I put in a lot of myself in my blog, even if it’s just a food blog, that I sometimes stress myself out unnecessarily. hehe.

    My blog may be young, but I’m not. We probably went to school together! I’m in my 30-s and I’m from Klang. 😉

  4. Dear Lyrical Lemongrass,

    This is so exciting. Did you go to Convent Secondary School? I miss my classmates.

  5. mrshbt – I’m from MGS Klang. 😉 We probably have mutual friends. 🙂

  6. Here are some of my classmates’ names: Ann Pakiam, Shanti, Tan Mei Ling, Wong Mai Ling, Nancy Ng. There are a few more faces in my head but I just don’t recall their names anymore. There is even this sweet girl from Pulau Ketam. It has been almost 20 years since I saw them. I left when I was 17, after SPM.

    I also went to Klang Chinese School over the bridge.

    I wish I can get in touch with my classmates and friends again.

    MGS was with ACS. Convent was with La Salle. Is that still true?

  7. mrshbt: I don’t recognise those names, unfortunately. It would be great if you hooked up with them again. I’m afraid I’m not in touch with any of the Convent girls anymore.

    I was different. I liked the La Salle boys. They had a good chess team and I played a lot of chess with them. 😉

  8. Kenny Mah

    Wow, this sounds like a little mini-reunion here, even though there aren’t any familiar names. Klang girls and Klang boys, huh? 😉

    I’m glad to see all the bloggers crossing “borders” and interacting with each other and finding new connections where none were apparent before.

    I believe we are all connected to each other, one way or the other. 🙂

  9. Lyrical Lemongrass,
    I was the captain for chess team in Convent Secondary School. But, I don’t remember playing chess with the La Salle boys.

    Kenny,
    I will check out the food review links at the end of your post on food bloggers galore. Who knows, with a little prayer, there may be a face or name that I recognize.

    Yes, Klang girls and Klang boys! I was invited to parties a couple of times before I left Malaysia. Although my Dad always wait for me in the car, I still had fun.

  10. mrshbt: I was the President of the Chess Team in MGS Klang. 😛

  11. Lyrical Lemongrass,

    Amazing! You were probably chosen because you are a leader and very good at chess. 🙂

    I was chosen because no one else wants to be captain of chess team!

    It must be late in Malaysia. Sweet Dreams…

Leave a Reply

