Faith Vs. Sight

My battle with the flu has tested my faith.  It is so easy to believe something that we can see or touch.  I wanted so badly to know that God was there for me.  My Dad, and my blogger friends, thanks for praying for me.  Your comments meant a lot to me.  It is what keeps me going. 

I know, I know.  I should rest, instead of blogging.  I tried to rest as much as I can but the cough kept me awake.  I went back to read yesterday’s daily devotional readings from Streams in the Desert. 

Elijah was a man just like us.  He prayed earnestly. (James 5:17) 

Elijah did not stop praying.   He paid no attention to what he saw.   In spite of utterly hopeless reports received from sight, he continued to pray.

Roast Pork / Siew Yoke

A few years ago, Mom made this when she visited us in the US.  When I saw the recipe on Lily’s website, I was determined to try it.  Since I was still not feeling well, I only ate a couple of pieces.  However, my daughters loved them.  Even my husband who is on low cholesterol diet could not resist the temptation.  He ate the non-fat part.

 

I used a ziploc bag to marinate the pork strips.  Marinate includes salt, pepper, sugar and five spiced powder. 

The pork strip will stand nicely with rind side up with skewars inserted on each end.  I used a drip-pan over a regular baking sheet pan to drain the extra fat.  I set my convection oven on broiler and on high.  In less than 3 minutes, there was lots of smoke inside the oven.  The skin began to crackle in less than 5 minutes.  I turned off the heat and reset the oven to bake at 450 degrees fahrenheit.  Make sure you have good ventilation, open the windows if it is too smoky inside the kitchen.  After about 40 minutes or so, I check the meat.  Most of it were cooked, so I turned off the oven.  When I was chopping the meat, I noticed a few pieces looked reddish, so, I put it back into the warmed oven.

6 Comments

Filed under hipfood, Stream in the Hip Desert 新沙漠甘泉

6 responses to “Faith Vs. Sight

  1. Kenny Mah

    Dear Lee Ping,

    I hope you are recovering well from your bout with the flu. Rest is especially important when you are under the weather, so do give blogging a miss.

    I had kopi ais with another blogger the other day, a food blogger at that, and she shared me how she gets worried sometimes how she has nothing to blog about.

    Yes, blogging is fun and it can be addictive, but not at the expense of our health, work, life… That’s why I only blog when I can or when I feel like it.

    Having said that, I do love your posts and writings so, even if I’m not able to drop by everyday due to work or other activities of the week. It just makes it all the better when I do drop by, I can gorge on more articles all at once! 😀

    P.S. Congrats to your hubby on starting to low-fat/cholesterol diet and your efforts to help him with that. Good for you two!

  2. Kenny,

    Do miss reading comments from you, Kenny, the philosopher, the thinker, and now the psychologist.

    If you have any other short stories that you would like me to read, please let me know. If it make it to my blogroll, it must be good.

    I don’t think one can run out of ideas on food. There are so many kinds of food in this world. Be creative, improvise, fusionize. My other passion is cooking French Food. If only I have more hours in a day, I would like to try new recipes every day. My URL is hipfood. “God’s words”, Malaysian Food, Desserts, Chinese Food, Indian Food, French Food, etc., they are all my hip food; food that I crave and enjoy eating.

    It will be a challenge to prepare hip food that is low in fat and cholesterol without sacrificing the taste.

  3. alice

    Pray and hope that you will have a speedy recovery. Your food is always so tempting ! But must watch my cholestrol level too.

  4. Kenny Mah

    “… the philosopher, the thinker, and now the psychologist.”

    O dear, where did that come from? You do make me blush. But I’m glad to hear you are in no danger of running out of ideas for food for, like Alice, I love reading about your latest culinary adventures, cholesterol levels notwithstanding! 😀

    French food now? Can’t wait to see what turns up. And if I can’t read your blog daily due to work, trust that I’ll always find time to get round to reading it eventually. 🙂

  5. The flu this year has been pretty bad, my family barely recovered from the first one two weeks ago, now we are coming down with another bout. Hope you get plenty of rest and drink lotsa fluids, here I brought some barley for you, drink up, will be back to check on you :o)

  6. Dear Firehorse,

    Thanks for your tips. I may have some barley in my pantry. Those grains do not have expiration dates, do they? I have had it for many years.

    A church sister just called me. She said steaming pears with rock sugar cures coughing. I will try that as well.

    My husband bought more cough medicine for me. Not much help.

Leave a Reply

