How Can I Help You?

I paused and thought about this sentence, “We can be of little use to others without a cost to ourselves.”  I really feel today’s reading applied to me.  The only way for me to teach others is for me to continue learning. 

Light is always costly and comes at the expense of that which produces it.

And unlit candle does not shine, for burning must come before the light.  Burning suggests suffering…

Earlier this week, I had a lunch date with a couple of my girlfriends.  The three of us have known each other for 5 years now.  Ironically, I was the only one that still enjoys cooking.  I thought how should I encourage them to cook more often for their families?  Perhaps when they read my blog, they will be inspired to cook.

There are many helpless women in this world.  If I can just reach out to you, and tells you that God loves you.  Even if it is just one person, I have done my job.  I believe God will be pleased.  Angels have helped me and are still helping me and I would like to pay it forward by becoming someone’s angel.

I believe that we have our own strengths and talents and until I find out exactly what my talent is, I will continue to blog with God’s blessing.  It is rewarding when I see my friends come up to me and say, “I read your blog yesterday and it has helped me thru my day.”  If one day, no one reads my blog, my efforts will not be wasted as it will be a great scrapbook for my 3 kids.

Cholesterol Too High

We went to a Korean Restaurant nearby Washington Square Mall yesterday afternoon.  Here are the dishes we ordered.

Short Ribs Bento with shrimp and vegetable tempura $6.95.

BiBimBob with Kimchi on the side $6.95

Over our lunch date, husband shared with me his recent annual exam’s result. He said he scored high in all three kinds of cholesterol.  He told me he wants to eat healthy from now on and do more exercise.  Praise God!  My husband loves his own body.  The more he takes care of himself, the less I have to worry for him. Doctor told him to use canola oil or olive oil and eat brown rice.

So, for dinner, I started to improvise on my cookings, for example, substituting crispy lard with crispy anchovies, substituting fresh fish with red meat or pork. 

 

Dou Hua (豆花)

Soybean curd is one of my comfort foods.  Taiwanese version is to add a little red bean or peanuts.  Cantonese version includes ginger flavored syrup.  No matter which version, I like to eat mine warm with a little rock sugar syrup.

I used a package of the “one heart tofu mix” dilute it with 2 cups of cold water.  After the 12 cups of soybean milk boils, pour it over the cold water mix.  The “one heart tofu mix” can only be found in Taiwan.  My mother in law has to take the taxi to buy it.  

5 Comments

Filed under Stream in the Hip Desert 新沙漠甘泉

5 responses to “How Can I Help You?

  1. wmw

    Hi there! Mmm….replacing crispy lard with crispy anchovies. Sounds good, I think I myself will have to think about that. It’s hard as I eat out most of the time and have a weakness for such fatty foods!

    I also believe in paying it forward….even in small gestures like making just one person happy a day, that person will pass on that happiness to others and so on. Have a marvelous weekend ahead!

  2. Dear WMW,

    You have just made me smile. I think I receive more than I give after I started blogging. Blogging is so rewarding. I just wished that I know about God’s love and blogging when I first married – could have saved bucket of tears.

  3. alice

    Nice shots! You did a great job with blogging and cooking. That helps others who are reading your post.

  4. Brown basmati rice is better and more palatable to our Chinese taste. Our family don’t eat white rice anymore. My cholesterol was 366 and I got it down to 105 by exercising religiously and also take Quaker Oats and Fish Oil (Omega 3), same for my husband. Oatmeal absorbs cholesterol from the body and so does things like Cheerios (non honey ones), switch to whole grain breads and pastas too. Since a year ago we starting discarding our diets became quite simple, a typical dinner is steam or grilled fish/white meat chicken, veggies and brrown rice. We don’t even use oyster sauce or any kind of sauce, very little salt and I don’t use sugar in my cooking for a long time now.
    With a devoted wife like you I am sure that your hubby will succeed in lowering his cholesterol.

  5. Dear Alice,
    How are you doing? Looks like this flu thing is affecting everyone. I need to see doctor today.

    Dear FireHorse,
    Thanks for your comments. The doctor did recommend fish oil to my husband. I am glad you mentioned that. I don’t know if I qualify as a devoted wife but one thing for sure, I don’t want him to go before I do.

Leave a Reply

