Have You Heard?

I heard the most beautiful song last weekend at the church retreat, where we studied the book of Zechariah.  The song writer must have gone thru much suffering in life and in return, received many blessings from God, to write such a heart warming song.  The first part of the chorus says, “Each blow I suffer, is true gain to me.” 

The title of the song is “If Thou Failed To Crush The Olives”.  

If Thou failed to crush the olives, precious oil can’t bestow.  If the grapes escape the winepress, heavenly wine can never flow.

Time again I bow in shame Lord, when I am overcome with self.  Heeding not my human feelings, only do what pleases thee.

The song writer ends with a prayer, “Thou increase and thy decrease, Lord.”  It is also my prayer that I think less of myself, swallow my pride and be more God-like.

1 Comment

Filed under Stream in the Hip Desert 新沙漠甘泉

One response to “Have You Heard?

  1. Kenny Mah

    If Thou failed to crush the olives, precious oil can’t bestow. If the grapes escape the winepress, heavenly wine can never flow.

    Beautiful lyrics. I guess we can’t grow and know ourselves better without overcoming obstacles and ourselves first. Everything we experience, we do learn from it, whether we act on this new knowledge or not. That’s why when people tell me about how some never learn, I always reply, “They do, but they just choose not to do anything about it.”

    Sadly, sometimes this person is me. But every day is another endeavour. Not giving up counts for something too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

