In His Time

My mind is still with the terrible incident that happened earlier this week. My heart weeps with the families of the victims.

This morning’s reading is

Psalm 37:5 Commit your life to the Lord, He will do if you trust in Him.

I used to pray and expect God to answer my prayers immediately. I thought it was my responsibility to do everything in my power to bring about the answer.

I looked ahead and saw the verse that our speaker spoke of during the past weekend retreat.

Zechariah 4:6 “Not by might nor by power, but by my spirit,” says the Lord Almighty.

God (Holy Spirit) will talk to me if I continue to read His words and please Him. He will make all things beautiful for me.

I remember a beautiful song that I used to play and sing many years ago.

In His Time, He make all things beautiful. That You do what You say, in Your time.

Simple Comfort Foods

Bread with Kaya and butter (imagine eating this with soft boil egg for breakfast)

Laksa Lemak

9 Comments

Filed under Malaysian Food, Stream in the Hip Desert 新沙漠甘泉

9 responses to “In His Time

  1. Peter Chong

    I have learned with great sorrow what has happened in the University where so many innocent lives has been lost as a result of this catastrophe and tragedy, wrought about by a mad man.

    May the grace of God bestow to the victims and their families in this hour of sadness. I hope that the State will be more vigilant that this unfortunate incident will not recur.

    It is indeed a human tragedy!

  2. Kenny Mah

    I think your entry has helped us make some sense of the sadness and shock of it all, but we may never know truly why it happened.

  3. Kenny Mah

    Congratulations, mrshbt!

    You’ve just been awarded a Thinking Blogger award! Pick your award here at my blog.

    We may not have known each other long, not even in blog years, but you have impressed upon me the need for family, for culture, for faith. You have shown me how powerful this combination can be, and I’m trying to emulate you, after a fashion, in my own way.

    It’s a delight to read any new entries you post, be they funny or sombre or poignant or a good ole family recipe. Thank you.

  4. wmw

    Congrats on your award! Yes, I wish there were more like you in this world, a world that seems to go mad at times. God Bless You!

  5. Kids say the darndest things. When my 8 year old got home today, I told her that I got a thinking blogger award. At first she asked how much did I win. Then she asked who gave me the award. I told her, another blogger. Without hesitation she said, “Oh I know, it’s Jenny Mah, I saw that name on your blog.” Immediately, I corrected her, “It is Kenny, not Jenny”.

    Ecclesiastes 4:9-12 talks about friendships. Two people are better than one. They can help each other in everything they do. Suppose someone falls down. Then his friend can help him up. But suppose the man who falls down doesn’t have anyone to help him up. Then feel sorry for him! …

  6. Dear WMW,

    Today, my heart weeps for the professor who gave his life trying to save his students. A holocaust survivor who died trying to keep a gunman from shooting his students in a killing spree at Virginia Tech University. A true hero. I thought, how many of us would sacrifice our lives for others?

    It was very kind of Kenny to give me the award. However, I bow down to allow his award to pass over me to go to other bloggers.

  7. Kenny Mah

    Dear mrshbt,

    Would it be odd if I told you that there is a Jenny Mah (no relation)? She was a senior at my high school though I never really met her, but for years, people asked me if she was my sister.

    I understand if you choose not to take on the award/nominate others — it is a trying time after all. But I always like looking at the brightness of Life; there is some every single day, even in trying hours.

    Hope you find some solace in this.

  8. Kenny,

    I started to think more about the nomination today. I tell you what. If a “thinking” blog comes my way, I will add it to my blogroll list. Once the number of blogs reach the magic number 5, I will let you know. I have a few inspirational blogs on my list now and more will come my way in the future.

  9. Pingback: God's Secret « Stream in the Hip Desert 新沙漠甘泉; Hip Food

Leave a Reply

