Cashing the Check

We all go to the bank for a purpose. We present our check, receive the cash and then leave, having transacted the real business. We do not go to the bank just to lay our check at the teller’s window, and then pick it up and leave without cashing it.

“Unfortunately, a great many people play at praying. They do not expect God to give them an answer, so they simply squander their prayer time. Our heavenly Father desires us to transact real business with Him in our praying.” Charles H. Spurgeon.

Proverbs 23:18 There really is hope for you tomorrow. So your hope will not be cut off.

After I read the above from Stream in the Desert, I brought my 19 month old baby to the library. After the library, since the weather was good and I haven’t shop for awhile, I thought I shop at the 23rd street. People who live in Portland are aware of the traffic in this hip street. It is very tough to get a parking spot. Well today was no different. However, I had a few opportunities to park. Unfortunately, these parking spots required me to parallel park. I thought to myself, “Here’s my chance to “cash my check”. So, I attempted to parallel park. I said a brief prayer and started my attempt. I signalled for the spot and started to reverse into the spot. By this time, a line of cars were waiting behind me. There is no Hollywood ending to this short story because I …….

chickened out after reversing about 3 times. This incident reminded me of my childhood prayers. I had procrastinated to study for exams. At the last minute, I prayed to God. Of course, my prayers were not answered. What I did today wasn’t “cashing the check”, in fact, it was darn-right stupid because I had not been formally trained to parallel park. It is like jumping off a building and asking God to catch me.

I did not have to cash my check today. I did not have to shop on 23rd street and buy more shoes. I needed to cultivate inner beauty, the beauty of gentle and quiet spirit.

1Peter 3:3-5 Braiding your hair doesn’t make you beautiful. Wearing gold jewelry or fine clothes doesn’t make you beautiful. Instead, your beauty comes from inside you. It is the beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit. Beauty like that doesn’t fade away. God places great value on it. This is the holy women of the past used to make themselves beautiful. They put their hope in God. And they followed the lead of their husbands.

Here is a blog where many friends and family are cashing their check, putting their ultimate hope in God.

Food For Thought

I made Char Kway Teow last night.

What made it taste authentic are these sauces.

Humor

Our 6 year old little dragon brought out baby’s bib and put it on herself.

When asked why she did that, “I did not want to soil my new blouse with the coffee ice cream”.

She even give our 8 year old little tiger a bib to wear!

2 Comments

Filed under Malaysian Food, Stream in the Hip Desert 新沙漠甘泉

2 responses to “Cashing the Check

  1. Kenny Mah

    1. You make a good a point, most of us attempt to cash in our checks at the most desperate moments, not realising we haven’t deposited anything in our account yet. 🙂

    2. Char kway teow tastes so much better with plenty of fresh, crunchy bean sprouts! Yours looks simply delish! 😀

  2. Dear Kenny,
    Thanks for your comments and smiley faces icons.

    Your first comment reminded me of a course I took many years ago, “7 Habits of Highly Effective People”. There is a thing called “Emotional Bank Account”. Deposits are thing we do that increase trust in the relationship: small kindnesses and courtesies, keeping promises, clarifying and honoring expectations, integrity, loyalty, apologies, and so on. Withdrawals are acts that decrease trust: unkindness, criticism, breaking promises, disloyalty and so on. 1. Deposits work only when they are sincere. 2. Our most constant relationships require us to make the most constant deposits. 3. Our own deposits and withdrawals are the only things that we can control in a relationship.

    You are right about the crunchy bean sprouts. It really enhance the taste of this dish. One of the bad things about living in the US is, fresh ingredients are not easily accessible. And bean sprouts don’t keep well in my refrigerator. Did you grow bean sprouts in secondary school?

Leave a Reply

