Life, what if?

My father is an excellent writer.  Give him a pen, paper, topic and deadline and he will give you an article.  I had a thought yesterday and I requested my father to write it for me.    At the end of the article, he expressed his concerns for me.  Pa, please do not worry for me as I want to live life to the fullest as though, today, is the last day and  I will blog all the recipes that I cook for the family so that when my children grow up, they will know how to cook their favorite foods from Mom.  I want to treasure each moment that I spend with my family because I don’t know when God decides to take me home. 

So, my assignment for dad to write was, what if I have only 3:

  1. hours to live 
  2. days to live
  3. years to live 

The following article was written by my father.

Thanks for inviting me to write an article on how best we can utilised our precious time if given the options of :

Basing on 1st scenario, I would get myself organised to sit down with my family and spend valuable time with them.  Maybe reminiscing about the past eventful occasions, to cherish the good memories we have spent joyously with one another.  Forgive the wrong doings of the family members and other people who has hurt and wronged us in the past and present times.

If I have 3 days to live,  I would go and visit all my friends and relatives and spend meaningful times with them discussing anything which I can contribute to make life more useful and meaningful to them, either materially or spiritually.

If I have 3 years to live,  I would plan to travel to either locally or to overseas destinations of places which I have not been before.  Places of interest like historical relics and cities/countries which has great scenic beauties.  Make good use of the time available to do things which I like and enjoy.  Forego all the earthly worries and try to spend my time profitably in the pursuit of religion and live the life of rectitude, prayers and meditations.  Do good to others who need helps both materialistically and spirituality.  Get everything or family affairs in order.

“Where there is life, there is hope”

“Where there is a will, there is a way”

Once you can forget and forgive another human being, you will feel a sense of relief, just like a stone has been lifted from your shoulder.  Try to remember the saying,”Life is full of struggle and obstacles, if we put our hearts and mind to it, we can overcome the difficulties and hardship and we shall prevail and triumph eventually.”

“Cancer is a disease of the mind, body, and spirit.  A proactive and positive spirit will help the cancer warrior be a survivor. Anger, unforgiveness and bitterness put the body into a stressful and acidic environment.  Learn to have a loving and forgiving spirit.  Learn to relax and enjoy life.

Cancer cells cannot thrive in an oxygenated environment.  Exercising daily, and deep breathing help to get more oxygen down to the cellular level.  Oxygen therapy is another means employed to destroy cancer cells.”  Cancer update from John Hopkins.

6 Comments

Filed under Stream in the Hip Desert 新沙漠甘泉

6 responses to “Life, what if?

  1. Wish I had done the same with my father, he was also a good writer, we used to have him write our resumes, job application letters, etc, etc. he had a way with words too, but I am impress this is a very nice blog and your idea of blogging all the recipes is a very good idea :O)

  2. Dear FireHorse,
    Thanks for stopping by my blog. Hope to see you soon….

  3. This post is a good reminder to me. 🙂

  4. Sandy

    My dear,

    Your dad is such a kind and wise man. I can see his character in you.

    If I have three hours to live, I might watch the scene from my window with my beloved ones without words.

    If I have three days to live, I might thank all of my friends and family for bringing such a wonderful life to me.

    If I have three years to live, I might seize and enjoy any moment I have. And listen to my heart more carefully.

    Minutes, hours, days, and years are all the same in front of God’s life.

  5. Kenny Mah

    Good answers. Now what if we had all the years of our lives to lead: would we do the same? Indeed, why shouldn’t we? 🙂

    My motto is always to make the most of my life. Lesson#1 in Life for Beginners; there are no other lessons yet that seem quite as urgent. Time is always running out whether we notice it or not. A quiet heart all that I seek.

  6. alice

    Wisely said.

Leave a Reply

