Oatmeal

Oatmeal has been a life saver for me.  As I was too weak to leave the house to buy food, I rambled thru my pantry.  I found a box of dry oatmeal.  I remembered Mom said, “Oatmeal is cheap but it is good for you.” 

By the time a woman realizes that maybe his mother was right, she usually has a daughter who thinks she is wrong.

So, mom is right.  Not only it is simple to make but it is also healthy. 

I will leave you with these tips. 

  1. If you find brown sugar that has hardened, put a piece of wet paper towel over it.  Over night, the brown sugar will soften up. 
  2. Cook oatmeal in a rice cooker.  If you have raisins, throw some in.
6 Comments

Filed under food

6 responses to “Oatmeal

  1. Oatmeal is my favorite food when I’m sick, too. I had the worst flu a month ago, and oatmeal was all I could eat. It’s a miracle food! You have to get the whole grain and not the instant to get its full benefits, but it will get you through and keep you nourished.

  2. Dear Brit527,
    Thanks for dropping by. God Bless…

  3. When can add wheat biscuits with it too to give it a very nice fragrant. Some times I add cocoa to the mixture to make it more “kids” friendly.

  4. Dear Teckiee,
    I think adding wheat biscuits (like digestives?) and cocoa are great ideas. I bought some Milo powder from Canada a few months ago. I should try adding that to the kids oatmeal tomorrow morning. Thanks for your comments.

  5. My son and I like oatmeal. But to the Japanese husband of my American friend, he thinks it is not food. He will not touch oatmeal if his wife cooks it. Thanks for dropping by my blog and sharing those beautiful words of friendship.

  6. Kenny Mah

    I love oatmeal! Have it for breakfast at least 5 days a week, sometimes just plain, sometimes a little extravagant: flavoured with some chicken stock powder, raisins and half-boiled eggs for a nice sweet-and-savoury version that’s very hearty indeed! 🙂

Leave a Reply

