Story of Two Monks

As I was reading this morning’s Stream in the Desert by Cowman, I was intriqued by the story.  The monk that entrusted its tree to its God, gave Him no constraints or conditions had a thriving tree.  However another monk who could not just leave it to God, asked Him to send frost to strengthen the roots of the tree that he just planted.  When God sent frost, the tree died.  

The monk should have prayed, “Lord, send me what I need, whether it be a storm or sunshine, wind, rain or frost.  You made it and you know best what it needs.”

After reading this story, I searched for the bible quote for today’s story and it was, “See how the lilies of the field grow. Matthew 6:28”  I felt compelled to open up the bible, wouldn’t you? 

Indeed, it is true, I got the assurance from the bible Matthew 6:25-34 tells us not to worry. I want to memorize the following verse:

Matthew 6:34 So don’t worry about tomorrow.  Tomorrow will worry about itself.  Each day has enough trouble of its own.

Korean Soaps

A good friend loaned me two Korean dramas, “Super Rookie” and “I am sorry, I love you”.  Bless her heart, she has no intention to harm me at all.  I had been watching these soap operas addictively.  I laughed and cried, and cried some more, as the drama progressed.  There are some talented directors that knows the pyschological workings of a woman’s mind.  I must resist the temptation to start watching another Korean Soaps because once I start, I cannot stop, staying awake to watch TV all night is definitely not good for my health.  I pray that one day I can be addicted to the bible, God’s words. 

2 Comments

Filed under Stream in the Hip Desert 新沙漠甘泉

2 responses to “Story of Two Monks

  1. Kenny Mah

    “Tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”

    Thank you, you have no idea how much I need to read this right now. 🙂

    This week is definitely much better than last, things are getting done and my anxiety levels are going down. Much more to do, even over the weekend, but since I can’t avoid it, I might as well look forward to it if I can, eh?

    Have a wonderful weekend yourself, dear.

  2. Kenny, thanks for your comments. I want to leave you with a quote from Charles Kingsley, “Make a rule, and pray to God to help you to keep it, never, if possible, to lie down at night without being able to say, ‘I have made one human being, at least, a little wiser, a little happier, or a little better this day.’ “

Leave a Reply

