Trials in Life

My computer finally stopped working after 2 years.  For my friends and family who are reading this posting, please send me an email because I have lost my web address book as well. 

I tried to find comfort in doing my daily readings, but I kept having bad thoughts.  Eventually, I had a headache. 

After a good night sleep, my headache has subside.  I can yet again, enjoy my daily life.  I can see I have a long ways to maturity.  Such little trials, and I am already shedding tears and moaning.  However, I am reminded, God will not allow us to be tempted beyond what we can bear. 

All things from God are for our own good.  Although I was sad to lose my computer, I am happy, that God gave me the ability to get a new one. 

This morning’s reading comforts me that it is OK to weep, not simply to endure God’s will, but to rejoice in it “with an inexpressible and glorious joy” [1 Peter 1:8].  I don’t want to be a stoic person, an unemotional person, like a sheep beneath the scissors of the shearer.

Sorrowful, yet always rejoicing [2 Corinthians 6:10] “A stoic person despises the shedding of tears, but a Christian is not forbidden to weep.  Yet the soul may become silent from excessive grief, just as the quivering sheep may remain quiet beneath the scissors of the shearer.  Or when the heart is at the verge of breaking beneath the waves of a trial, the sufferer may seek relief by crying out with a loud voice.  But there is something even better…. It is said that…the most magnificient psalms (songs) arose from the most profound agonies of the soul.

Therefore, amid a multitute of trials, souls who love God will discover reasons for boundless, leaping joy.”  By Cowman. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Stream in the Hip Desert 新沙漠甘泉

Leave a Reply

