Struggling To Do What’s Right

When I was younger, I was told that when I was being offered a bowl of strawberries, I only chose the larger ones.  “Of course, I chose the larger ones, they were right in front of me”, I thought.  

We are surrounded by temptations.  We have a choice to make.  If we yield to our temptations and our actions hurt others, or if our actions hurt ourselves, we should stop.  Pray and seek God’s help or find someone that can pray for you.

Ephesians 5:11-15 says,

Do not participate in the unfruitful deeds of darkness, but instead…expose them; for it is disgraceful even to speak of the things which are done by them in secret.  But all things become visible when they are exposed by the light, for everything that becomes visible is light… 

Therefore be careful how you walk, not as unwise men but as wise.

I wrote the above this morning.  Since my baby is sleeping, I thought I’d write some more.  I took my 19 month old to the library as usual, every Thursday.  For those of you who are reading my blog in the Asian countries, especially Malaysia, I will explain a little what the government is providing for all the young children here.  The library has programs for everyone, young and old.  We went to the program for toddlers this morning.  For 45 minutes, the babies sang songs, played with bubbles, danced around, played with other kids and read books.  To encourage reading at home, they even gave each family a story book to take home. 

My cousin in Klang Malaysia, once asked me how do I have time to cook when I have 3 little kids?  Well, life is different here.  I live in the suburb, not in the city, so the traffic is not as bad.  I am more relaxed when it comes to taking kids to activities.  When my older two were still in preschool, I signed them up for ballet, piano, swimming, and chinese school.   After they started school, we stopped all activities.  These days, daddy teaches chinese on the weekends and I teach piano occasionally.  I find that adults are less stressful if there are not too many activities.  In the summer (June thru September), when there are no school for 3 months, I plan to start them on swimming again.  

The education system here in the US is very different from where I grew up.  My kids hardly ever bring homework home and there are no test.   Kids are encouraged to read.  Even some restaurants promote reading.  There is a restaurant that gives free meal to kids that read 5 books. 

In the midst of this kind of easy lifestyle, there are some parents who still keep themselves and their kids very busy with different activities.  I think that is OK as long as the kids enjoy these activities.

Although it is important for kids to be academically smart, I think it is equally important for them to have a spiritual life.  Kids will learn that there is a great power out there, someone that they can talk to when they are sad and lonely. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Stream in the Hip Desert 新沙漠甘泉

Leave a Reply

