The Race

“Quit, give up, you’re beaten” they shout at you and plead
“There’s just too much against you this time you can’t succeed”.
And as I start to hang my head in front of failures face
My downward fall is broken by the memory of a race
And hope refills my weakened will as I recall that scene
Or just the thought of that short race rejuvenates my being
Children race, young boys, young men, how I remember well
Excitement sure, but also fear, it wasn’t hard to tell,

They all lined up so full of hope, each thought to win that race or tie for first,
or if not that at least take second place
The fathers watched from off the side, each cheering for his son
And each boy hoped to show his dad that he could be the one
The whistle blew and off they went, young hearts and hopes afire
To win and be the hero there was each young boys desire
And one boy in particular whose dad was in the crowd
Was running near the lead and thought “My dad will be so proud”

But as they sped down the field across a shallow dip
The little boy who thought to win lost his step and slipped
Trying hard to catch himself with hands flew out to brace
And amid the laughter of the crowd, he fell flat on his face
But as he fell his dad stood up and showed his anxious face
Which to the boy so clearly said “Get up and win the race”
He quickly rose, no damage done, behind a bit that’s all
And ran with all his night and mind, to make up for the fall,

So anxious to restore himself, to catch up and to win,
His mind went faster than his legs, he slipped and fell again,
He wised then that he had quit before, with only one disgrace,
“I’m hopeless as a runner now, I shouldn’t try to race”
But in the laughing crowd he searched and found his fathers face
That steady look which said again, “Get up and win the race”
So up he jumped to try again, ten yards behind the last
If I’m going to gain those yards he thought, I’ve got to move real fast

Exerting everything he had, he regained eight or ten
But trying hard to catch the lead, he slipped and fell again
Defeat, he lay there silently, a tear dropped from his eye
There’s no sense running anymore, three strikes, I’m out, why try?
The will to rise had disappeared, all hope had fled away
So far behind so error prone, a loser all the way
“I’ve lost, so what”, he thought, I’ll live with my disgrace
But then he thought about his dad whom soon he’d have to face

“Get up” the echo sounded low, “Get up” and take your place
You were not meant for failure here, “Get up”, and win the race
With borrowed will “Get up” it said, “You haven’t lost at all”
For winning is no more than this, To rise each time you fall
So up he rose to run once more and with a new commit
He resolved, that win or lose, at least he shouldn’t quit
So far behind the others now, the most he’d ever been
Still he’d give it all he had, and run as though to win

Three times he’d fallen, stumbling; Three times he’d rose again
Too far behind to hope to win, he still ran to the end
They cheered the winning runner as he crossed the line first place
Head high and proud and happy, no falling, no disgrace
But when the fallen youngster, crossed the line, last place
The crowd gave him the greater cheer for finishing the race
And even though he came in last, with head bent low, unproud
You would have thought he’d won the race, to listen to the crowd

And to his dad he sadly said “I didn’t do too well”
“To me you won”, his father said “You rose each time you fell”

by D. H. Groberg


It does seemed like I have been out of the blogging world, doesn’t it? I have spent these few months developing my spiritual food page, my daily journal. I have received a few encouraging emails and comments from other brother and sisters in Christ on this page. So, I will continue to write.

As for my main blog, when I have new discovery or ideas, I will continue to share.

This week, I am sharing a short cut meal idea. Cook chicken drumstick in store bought Masala sauce. Onion and Tomatoes can be added to the sauce as well. Serve it with spicy Lime Leaf and Lemongrass Cashew Nut and store bought Naan or some Basmati rice. Top with some fresh herb like Cilantro as garnish. I would like to credit this short cut meal idea to Trader Joes. When I tasted their food sample this afternoon, I knew exactly what to make for dinner.

And for dessert, Bubur Cha Cha (Yellow Sweet Potato, Purple Sweet Potato and Taro cooked in coconut milk).



A complete short cut meal with dessert! The main course took only a fraction of the time to prepare compared to the dessert. Recipe for Bubur Cha Cha dessert adapted from Corner Cafe.



This afternoon I heard that our Christian lives is like running a race. We fall, get up, fall, and get up, all the way to Heaven. The above poem is very encouraging because our Heavenly Father loves us and He doesn’t care if we win the race as long as we get up and try again.

13 Comments

Filed under Stream in the Hip Desert 新沙漠甘泉

13 responses to “The Race

  1. The last line of the poem says it all. Thanks for sharing, dear. :)

  2. pistarchio

    hi there, i’m young 21 year old trying to learn cooking. i’m so inspired by your blog and how you use it for God! keep up the great work! you have an awesome blog! continue to use it for His highest (:

  3. Hey Lee Ping!

    Great to see an addition to your foodblog – I sure am missing it!

    Your quotes from Groberg’s writing reminds me of a song I love – Voice of Truth by Casting Crowns – it’s so true that we are torn between voices of truth and the lies. Let our eyes and ears see the truth and know our worth!

  4. alice

    I fell many times, but the Lord lifts me up. We all got to finish the race.

  5. hey, look at you…serving a full wonderful and healthy meal. GBU always!

  6. Hey, Mrs HBT. Nice to see a new post from you. Thanks for the meaningful poem. Glad to know you still enjoy getting inspired to cook for your lovely family.

  7. To My Blogger Friends: Kenny, Pistarchio, Linda, Alice, Eliza, Argus and WMW,

    You are all standing on the side-lines cheering for me. For that, I thank you.

    Last Saturday, a Sister asked, “When do we know we are running?” That was an interesting question.

    I thought about my own life. Perhaps, I started to run when:
    I began my blog?
    I started my Spiritual Food blog?
    I first went back to church after 15 years?
    I started to pray for my families’ salvation?
    I began to read God’s words?
    I began to forgive others?
    I began to love others unconditionally and care for their souls instead?
    I began to battle bad thoughts?
    I understood that Jesus died for me?

    I can’t say an exact date of when I started this race but I know I am running now. And this race will lead me to see my Heavenly Father.

    And without faith it is impossible to please God, because anyone who comes to him must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who earnestly seek him. (Hebrews 11:6)

  8. Hi! First time commenting here. Like your blog..and yes, Christians run the race for something better than gold…the crown of life that lasts for eternity :)

  9. Dear MyBugLife,
    Your comment on the crown of life reminded me of what a Brother in Christ once said, “My wife tells me that she will get a larger crown than me in Heaven.” That’s something to think about….

    There are days when my mind is set to run but physically, I am tired. And then, there are days, when I am physically healthy, but I am not abiding in the Lord. But God is merciful. He continues to provide and protect.

    Thanks for dropping by.

  10. Hello Mrshbt, thanks for the encouragement (: yea spirtual food blog (: cool.. I need to learn to cook and I can learn from your posts… (:

  11. Dear Lee Ping, hope you and your loved ones are well and happy. Here’s wishing you a blessed Christmas and a joyous new year. ^_^

  12. Hi Lee Ping

    Regarding how I comes to know your blog. I was always browsing on Lily web for recipes and looks into all her blog links so happen I came across about you on your family and parent background have something to do with Fraser’s Hill.Both me and my sis June is still single. It is a trend in my family also my cousin (F.Hill). We get used to being all this while staying with our parent and takes thing easy. After I finished my O’level, I took an accounting course and started working in private firm. I’m in my late forty and leave my job ten year ago to help my sis (June) to run an art center. We operate in a shoplot (K.L) and business was good. Most of our customer are expat from Japan,Singapore, America,Australia and some local elite. After the economy boon in China most of the expat have left for malaysia in early 2001, we were affected and decided to operate it in learning center and kindergarten. We have allocated our studio to our own double storey house in other town (Subang Jaya). We do not expect any influx of foreigner coming to Malaysia anymore due to world economy and political crisis. We hope to travel and teach those which have passion in this Decorative painting.

    Bye!

    GOD Bless

  13. Dan

    I stumbled across your sight looking for some inspiration, thank you for posting it.

Leave a Reply

