What Do Parents Treasure Most?

Mom: “Where’s my gift?”
Little Dragon: “But, it is not Mother’s Day yet. Mother’s Day is tomorrow.”
Mom: “I can’t wait to see my gift.”

A few minutes later, my 7 year old, with a huge smile, showed up with her present and handmade card for me.

“Dear Mom,
Thank you for being so nice to me. You are the nicest Mom in the world. I think your almost like Jesus! Your really special.”

Next to these sweet words, was a drawing of me with my favorite rolled up blue jeans.

Little Dragon’s card is a reminder for me to praise my own parents and my Heavenly Father.

Proverbs 16:24 Pleasant words are a honeycomb,
Sweet to the soul and healing to the bones.

9 Comments

Filed under Stream in the Hip Desert 新沙漠甘泉

9 responses to “What Do Parents Treasure Most?

  1. happy early mother’s day Lee Ping! have a blessed day tomorrow.

  2. mei

    Wishing you a blessed Happy Mother’s Day! Your kid so cute.

  3. Awww, so sweet, cute and appreciative!
    Just dropping by to wish you a joyous and blessed Mom’s Day, Mrs HBT. You’re certainly one of the sweetest and most loving mummies around.
    And your children are certainly a credit to you and your other half.

  4. Dear Eliza,
    Congrats again on your award. The image of your beautifully cut mango is still vivid in my mind. Happy Mother’s Day to you as well.

    Dear Mei,
    How are you doing? Happy blessed Mother’s Day to you as well. Indeed, our children are cute. However, there are times when they have their own opinions, etc. These are the times where we give them GRACE (forgiveness + gifts). The same child who wrote the sweet card was just in my bedroom, crying and complaining that her younger sister drew on her artwork.

    Did Vern bake cookies for you this year?

    Dear Argus,
    What a surprise to get a comment from you. I thought you will be busy preparing for the arrival of your two eldest sisters. Thanks for your friendship.

  5. What a lovely Mother’s Day card from Little Dragon! It must have brought a big smile to your face.

    (And she definitely has some artistic talent… good choice of colours… and very clean lines too.)

    Just to share with you, my own mother left for Europe on holiday with my father on Mother’s Day (we had already had a long chat the night before), so I called up my sister instead on Sunday and wished her Happy Mother’s Day and caught up on her life and her kids.

    I believe every mother around the world is beginning this week with an extra bit of cheerfulness after celebrating Mother’s Day. :)

  6. Hi Kenny,
    You are right. Little Dragon’s lovely Mother’s Day card brought a big smile to my face. In fact, I still smile each time I see the card. I believe she has some artistic talent as well. She is especially good at humorous cartoons. Sometimes, she draws them to cheer me up. God has definitely used Little Dragon (and my other two girls) to brighten my days.

    Thanks for sharing with me that your mother is traveling to Europe with your father. I hope that they will enjoy their time there and have a safe trip home. What a way to celebrate Mother’s Day! Your father is very wise… And it is very thoughtful of you to call your sister to wish her Happy Mother’s Day. Your sister must have been delighted to hear from you.

  7. Yes, my sister was. Sometimes it’s not much, but a call can do wonders to lift someone’s spirits. :)

  8. Lee Ping..how lovely the card looks so beautiful so does the thoughts…how are you doing my friend …hope things are going good!

  9. Peter Chong

    Dearest Lee Ping,
    I am really very touched by Little Dragon’s love for you as a good and loving mother. In her young and tender age, she has expressed her love and heartfelt sentiment for you which is very unique for a child of her age.

    Please nurtured her good and kind attributes and I am sure when she grows up to adulthood, she will always be there for you in good time and trying period.

    Wishing you a Happy and joyous “Mother’s Day”
    Love
    Pa and mom

Leave a Reply

